A weekend full of sweat

27 Feb

Good Afternoon :)

I hope your weekend was fabulous!

Mine was pretty stinkin’ good. I have no complaints!

Friday I met a friend for dinner and drinks. My drink was super fruity and not too strong which was exactly what I was in the mood for.

Saturday I spent most of the day at a church retreat.churchretreatcenterpiece

I’m not a super religious person but I was glad that my mom convinced me to go. It was a great way to kind of “reset”. I came out of it feeling really really refreshed. So refreshed that I decided to bake… or rather no-bake.

nobakegranolaballs

I made No Bake Granola Balls. They are awesome. I found them thanks to Pinterest (what else is new…) The original recipe is here. I made a few slight modifications – I used a little less oats than the recipe calls for because I ran out, and I used ground flax seed instead of hemp seed. They came out DELICIOUS, healthy and they fill you up to0. They are perfect for a snack when you need a little something sweet. I will definitely be making these again… and again.

Sunday was the day of sweating lots of sweat! In the morning I went for a long run with my dad – 5 miles in a little over an hour. The run was awesome – it was one of those runs where you feel amazing, and I was on such an endorphin high when I got home. It was great. :) After some foam rolling, a shower and eating lunch, I headed out again for a Zumbathon! This is my second one and it was a blast! Though by the end my legs were definitely feeling the effects of my double work out day. When I got home I had plans to make some soup for dinner but instead the hubby and I decided to order a pizza. :) It was the perfect end to a really good day.

Here’s what my workouts this week look like:
Monday – Hot Power Yoga
Tuesday – Zumba
Wednesday – 4 mile easy run
Thursday – Rest
Friday – 4 mile tempo run
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – 6 mile long run

I hope your week is off to a good start!

2 Responses to “A weekend full of sweat”

  1. Melinda February 27, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I absolutely love your blog in general (I am a vegetarian runner too) and I love how you layout your workout schedule. That must be great for accountability. I found your blog by searching “plans for slow runners” or something similar, because I am a slow runner, but a dedicated one. May I ask, please, what your pace is? What is your average half marathon time? What is your fastest mile time?

    • Becca February 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Hi Melinda! Posting my workout schedule is great for accountability for sure. It frequently changes throughout the week but I try to make sure I get in all the planned workouts. Honestly, my pace has been varying a lot in the past year – and I’m not exactly sure why. But my Half marathon PR from May 2010 is 2:57:xx, and for my upcoming half I’m hoping to maintain a 12:30 mile. I haven’t ever timed a mile to see how fast I can go, but my fastest 5k was run at about a 10:30 mile I think? You can take a look at all of my race times by click on the Running & Races link at the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers

