A few easy, great tasting recipes

7 Sep

I’m off to Bird In Hand for packet pickup for the race today. In the meantime I wanted to share some recipes that I’ve had a lot of recent success with.

I don’t consider myself smart in the kitchen at all. It’s hard for me to just “throw some things in a pot” and wait to see what happens. In addition, I don’t have a lot of time to cook from scratch every night after work. But it is important for me and the hubby to eat healthy, fresh (and obviously vegetarian) foods whenever possible.

I’ve come across three great recipes – two of which are relatively healthy – that I wanted to share.

Loaded Quinoa Veggie Burgers

quinoaburger

Recipe and image from Can You Stay For Dinner?

These Quinoa Burgers were my first try at making homemade veggie burgers! They were super easy to make, full of fresh ingredients (black beans, quinoa, carrots, scallions). They tasted great, and had a slight crunch from the quinoa which the hubby and I both loved. We ate them with melted cheese, and typical buger condiments. We skipped the buns though – they weren’t needed.┬áThese are a great week night meal.

Slow Cooker Beef & 3 Bean Chili

slowcooker3beanchili

Recipe and image from The Chic Life

I am a huge fan of slow cooker meals. I love to put them together on a Sunday morning so that Sunday’s dinner is taken care of early in the day, and there’s tons of leftovers for weekday lunches. Since the original recipe uses ground beef, I just substituted in Quorn beef crumbles. The beef crumbles were delicious, and the tons of beans gave the chili a lot of staying power.

Now for something sweet…

Carmelitas

carmelitas

Recipe and image from Lulu the Baker

Oh my gosh. These are awesome. I made these last weekend and was a little nervous. I have never worked with caramel before so I had no idea how they would turn out. But they were quick to make (the hardest part is being patient while the caramels melt into the heavy cream), and taste DELICIOUS. They may not be as healthy as the other two dishes but everyone needs some sweets in their life. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

