Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Week 7)

31 Mar

Whoops – friday and the weekend sort of got away from me!

Our basement renovations are in full force and we spent saturday furniture shopping and seeing Divergent in the theater. We found a great sectional for the basement, and as far as Divergent…eh. Read the books for sure. The hubby thought the movie was entertaining but I personally did not think it did the book justice. It was okay, but the books are better, in my opinion. ;)

Last week was the first full week that I didn’t have use of my home treadmill due to the basement renos. I know, I know #firstworldrunnerproblems right? I got the mileage in for the most part but it took shifting things around and running at the gym at work over lunch, which is an interesting experience for sure. Going back to work with an endorphin rush is a bit of a double edged sword – I’m all energetic and happy, but it also makes it a little bit tough to focus for the first hour of the afternoon.

Anyhow, here’s how things went.

Saturday the 22nd – 9 miles easy
Sunday – BodyPump* + RPM* – RPM felt really really hard this time. I think because of the 9 mile run the previous day. It is great for shaking my legs out and keeping them loose but I may have to back off on Sunday morning RPM as I get into higher mileage.
Monday – 3 miles hills (treadmill) – did this in 38:58, wowsa. Something about a different treadmill sped me up I guess.
Tuesday – 3 miles speed work + Sh’Bam* + BodyPump
Wednesday – Unplanned rest – I was exhausted so I opted to skip morning RPM. Definitely the right choice!
Thursday – BodyPump + 4 miles easy. My plan called for 5 miles, but I was meeting some friends for happies so I had to cut my run a mile short.
Friday – Rest
Saturday – 3 miles. I planned to run a 5k this morning but I woke up feeling dizzy, not sure why. After we furniture shopped and went to the movie I managed to make it to the gym and run 3 miles on the treadmill in 37:27. Pretty happy with that!
Sunday – BodyPump + RPM

*Links for more information: BodyPumpRPM and Sh’Bam.

Overall I got it done. Hopefully this week will go a bit smoother since I know how to fit things into my schedule now!

2 Responses to “Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Week 7)”

  1. Kim @OKrunnermom March 31, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    Congrats! Keep up the hard work! It will pay off! <3

  2. mizunogirl March 31, 2014 at 8:29 pm #

    Always tough when your normal routine is messed up! BUt maybe you will get a new routine!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

