Cinco de Mayo

5 May

Happy Cinco de Mayo! Make sure you get your salsa fix today (I know I have). I remember this day my senior year of college. It was senior week, we were trying to soak up the last bit of college life. We drank beer like it was water – all in the name of Cinco de Mayo.Β  Fast forward 5 years and it’s crazy how times have changed. I think that last time I had alcohol was a glass of wine a month ago.

Anyhow, we’re 3 for 3 with the morning work outs this week! I woke up before 6am to get in a 30 minute run followed by a hill climb. It’s so hard to leave the warm comfy bed and husband but so refreshing to be driving to work knowing my workout is already out of the way and calories have already been burnt. Breakfast today was something new – we’re all out of yogurt and cereal (grocery day is tomorrow) so I made some egg beaters in the microwave. I never thought I would say I’d be making eggs in the microwave but after seeing a few blog entries in the blogosphere about it I thought I might as well give it a shot. So eggs with a teensy bit of cheddar cheese between two pieces of toast. The eggs were okay… I definitely prefer them made on a skillet but in a pinch the microwave makes it work. The great thing about eggs is that they fill me up for a while. Around 11 we celebrated a coworkers birthday with a spread of goodies and I gave in and had a donut. I know, I know. But sometimes you just gotta splurge. I haven’t had one in months and omg was it worth it. It was a smores donut… filled with marshmallow cream and topped with chocolate frosting with graham cracker crumbs. I also had a few tortilla chips with a coworkers amazing home made salsa. It’s now 1pm and I’m not remotely hungry for lunch. I think I’m going to force myself to eat the spinach w dressing I have packed but the other stuff may just go back home with me.

As I mentioned previously I’ve been counting calories online again just as a sanity check. I decided to revisit my calorie goals and I’m glad I did. I recalculated my BMR to figure out what I burn daily and then calculated in my activity level and goals. The calories I should be eating went up by about 200. Hopefully that’ll help me not feel tired and may even promote some weight loss. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

