Food flops and a Mexican vacay

8 May

Whew wee. This weekend has been full of lots of completed to dos, food flops, running, mother day lunch and some relaxation. Yesterday I woke up at 6am to get in my last semi-long run. My dad and I ran 4 miles around a historic part of town that included two super huge hills. It would be a great route to get some hill work in! After my run, the hubby and I got a ton of stuff including fixing a paint chip on his car, figuring out how to preserve our dried wedding flowers, finally updating my car title and registration with my new last name, and we managed to squeeze in dropping off my wedding rings to get redipped and inspected. I’m glad to get them cleaned up but I miss them 😦 Luckily we picked up a cheapo ring at Disney on our honeymoon that I can wear in the meantime, but it’s just not the same.

The big news is the hubby and I booked us a vacay in Rivera Maya in Mexico for our 1st anniversary in October. We will be staying at an All Inclusive resort – I can’t wait. Sun, sand, unlimited food, unlimited alcohol – yes please! October seems so far away right now but I can’t wait!

This weekend could also be described as one full of baking & cooking flops. On friday I had a half a day at work so I spent part of the afternoon baking some flour-less oatmeal peanut butter cookies basde on a recipe I found on a blog. They turned out so-so. Kind of bland. I’m not sure if I did something wrong but I’m not sure I’ll be making them again. The second flop was this morning. I attempted to make baked French Toast since I’ve been seeing recipes for it all over the web. It turned out soggy and not good. Again not sure if it was me but I think I’ll be sticking with traditional French Toast from now on.

Happy Mothers Day to all the mommys out there! The hubby and I just got back from a yummy lunch with my mom and grandma. Hope your day is as sunny and full of yummy food as ours has been.

One Response to “Food flops and a Mexican vacay”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Funday « Diary of a slow runner - May 22, 2011

    […] a million and two errands and the afternoon dealing with two more baking flops. That’s right. That brings the grand total of my recent baking flops to four. I had grand plans to make lemon bars – I bought fresh lemons to squeeze and was […]

Leave a Reply

