A nice day for a hike

28 May

I ❀ Saturdays! Especially when I have a THREE DAY WEEKEND! yahooo! Onto the day. This morning I woke up around 9 (this is sleeping in believe it or not), had a kashi honey sunshine breakfast and then the husband and I were off to our friends ordination. My friend and his wife were both getting ordained into the Lutheran church. It was really cool to see it all happen! After the service we hopped back in the car and got home as quickly as possible becuase we wanted to go HIKING! The weather was perfect and we were feeling energized. After another quick meal (quorn chicken nuggets for something substantial) we drove to a local hiking trail that goes up the side of a mountain. I hadn’t hiked there since I was little so I was super psyched.

Wowsa! Hiking up the side of a mountain really works you calf muscles! πŸ™‚ But when we got to the top it leveled out and was much less rocky. We hiked along one of the loop trails they have that goes to a variety of lookout spots. Here’s a picture of us at the first lookout – gorgeous huh?

There was a tree that was standing in perfect spot for us to hit the timer and run to get a photo. Overall we hiked about 4 miles in a little over 2 hours, including a REALLY steep incline at the beginning and a REALLY treterous and rocky decline at the end (that’s the last time we take that trail down, hah). It was super humid so we were both pretty sweaty and grimy by the time we got back to the car.

As we were leaving the hubby asked if I wanted to stop and get my car washed, since it was pretty dirty from all of the pollen that’s been floating around recently. I thought he was crazy at first but then figured we might as well go do it – we were already sweaty anyhow! So a quick stop by a self-service car wash and my car is now squeeky clean!

We got home, took showers, and I stuck some of my moms homemade lasagna rolls in the oven (lasagna noodles rolled up and filled with cheese and spinach, topped with marinara sauce and more cheese). YUM. The hubby and I are chilling now, watching Modern Family. I used my trusty Magic Bullet to make a super quick and super delicious margarita – Jose Cuervo style. Perfect.

2 Responses to “A nice day for a hike”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The long weekend in review « Diary of a slow runner - May 31, 2011

    […] on a tough hike with the […]

  2. Memorial Day almost 4 miler « Diary of a slow runner - June 3, 2011

    […] We ended up walking about 3/4s of the way up. My legs were feeling dead already – a result of our hike on Saturday and starting out too fast. When we got to the top and the turn around I let gravity do the work on […]

Leave a Reply

