Our first CSA

2 Jun

We got our first box from a local CSA on Tuesday. I have been super excited since we signed up because I thought it would be a great way to get more veggies into our diet. Our first box was full of lettuce, kale, spinach, green onions and radishes.

The first thing we did was chopped and cleaned and talked about how we’re going to fit these new veggies into our meals for the week.

– Lettuce and spinach went into a container to be used for salads to take in our lunches.
– Radishes were chopped up and will be added to salads.
– Green onions were chopped up and we’re planning on adding them to quesadillas we had planned for later in the week.
– The kale was something I really didn’t know what to do with. I’ve heard it tastes bitter so I knew it wasn’t a good salad or green monster green. So I decided what the heck, let’s try to make a batch of the kale chips I’ve been hearing so much about in the blogosphere. Somehow I managed not to burn them and they came out okay. I added sea salt and pepper to them and after tasting them I added cayenne powder to some and garlic powder to others just to try it. If we get any more kale I think I’ll definitely try to make kale chips again and experiment with different spices even more.

I have a big CSA salad packed for lunch, I’m super excited to try the fresh and locally grown veggies!

Leave a Reply

