Punski and conference food

13 Jun

I hope your week is off to a good start!

Yesterday was filled with lots of relaxation and some polish food! My grandma went to a Polish store and she brought back punski (jelly donuts), pierogies and bubka (a cheese filled cake – kind of like a danish). YUM. I had half of a punski. I love homemade sweets, they’re my weakness! 🙂

My monday started with a quick 3 mile run – yay for 5am wake up calls! It was suprisingly easy to wake up at 5am – much easier than it was for me to wake up at 5:30 previously, must be the end of a sleep cycle for me or something.

Today and tomorrow I’m at an all day conference for work. Conferences usually = bad food choices for me so I’m making a good effort to try to stay somewhat in line despite all of the temptation. Today’s conference eats:

  • Breakfast – Granola w. vanilla yogurt. Grapes. 1/2 of a bagel.
  • Snack – Babybel mini cheese that I had packed as a snack.
  • Lunch – Salad w. italian dressing. Rice pilaf, vegan vegetable lo mein, roll, a little cole slaw, marinated bok choy. Small slice of cheesecake.
  • Snack – A dozen jelly bellys, sugar cookie, soft pretzel stick.

Not too shabby but not too great either – especially in the afternoon. I’ll give it another go tomorrow. I’m going to pack a granola bar to eat in the afternoon which will hopefully help.

For dinner the hubby and I chopped and steamed bok choy, asparagus, broccoli and green peppers. We made some rice, and mixed it all together. I added a little bit of soy sauce to cut the bitterness of the bok choy. Pretty delicious, and pretty healthy! The majority of the veggies were from our CSA. We get our next box of CSA goodness tomorrow, I’m excted to see what we’ll get.

Leave a Reply

