Birthday & Father’s Day Weekend

20 Jun

I hope everyone’s weekend was fabulous. The weather here was gorgeous which meant lots of outside time which I loved.

Saturday was my birthday. I slept in until 9:30 and woke up to 13 emails from facebook full of birthday wishes – I was definitely feeling the love! We had some Van’s frozen waffles (my favorite organic frozen waffles so far!) for breakfast. The hubby gave me a card, and I had already received my gifts because we ordered them a few weeks ago. I told him I wanted to go “sweat it out on a hike” so that’s just what we did. We explored a couple new hiking trails nearby and spent about 2 hours hiking in the heat and humidity. It felt great! I love breaking a sweat πŸ™‚ After the hike we went home to shower and get ready for dinner with the fam. I chose a Mexican restaurant for dinner – I had a combination platter that included a cheese enchilada, bean burrito, cheese quesadilla and rice. YUM. It was BYOB so I also had a glass of chardonnay from the bottle my grandmother brought. We had presents and dessert back at my grandmothers place. My parents bought me a Spibelt! I can’t wait to try it out. Dessert-wise my grandmother made me a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing. It was so good – and I got a ton of leftovers to snack on this week πŸ™‚ It was a great birthday – the perfect combination of activity and downtime.

Sunday was of course Father’s Day. My dad and I had planned to go for a 6 -8 mile run at 8am. When my alarm went off at 6:30 I just felt exhausted and knew that getting up that early would be a mistake. My body needed more rest time. So I sent a quick email to my dad from my phone and passed out until 9:30. I was able to squeeze in a 3 mile run around 10:30 – but it was already getting pretty warm out. I wished I had worn my visor from the second I got outside in the sun. My training plan had 4 miles planned for yesterday but after 3 I was feeling pretty exhausted and decided to call it a day. After a quick shower the hubby and I went out to lunch with the fam – this time for Father’s day. I got a veggie pizza wedge – basically eggplant, lettuce, onions and some sort of mustard on pizza dough and grilled. It was okay, I wish it had had some marinara sauce and cheese though – that would of made it more flavorful and super pizza-y. We gave my dad a Disc Golf set for father’s day so he really wanted to go try it out. We went to a local park that has a disc golf course and while the hubby, my dad and brother played the nine holes a few times, my mom and I relaxed on a blanket and read our eReaders.

Overall a pretty amazing weekend! Perfect for summer.

One Response to “Birthday & Father’s Day Weekend”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cutting the cable « Diary of a slow runner - June 23, 2011

    […] I wish I had taken a picture but I completely forgot. Dessert was the last slice of red velvet birthday cake. I’ve been enjoying the leftovers all week but I guess the fun had to end at some […]

Leave a Reply

