Cutting the cable

23 Jun

It’s my friday – don’t be jealous 🙂 I’m SO looking forward to a three day weekend.

I got in a 20 minute run yesterday morning before work. It was like running through pea soup – it was so humid. I was soaked by the time I was done.

After work the hubby and went to Bed, Bath & Beyond armed with a 20% off coupon and some store credit. We came out with wash cloths, hangers and an amazing cookie sheet to bake our homemade pizzas on. I know it seems random but we’d been making a list of things we needed wanted for a few weeks.

yes it's blurry - I wanted to take the picture quickly to get to eating!

Dinner was sandwiches from a local shop – we were feeling too lazy to shop. I got a wrap with sprouts, onions, carrots, provolone cheese and honey mustard dressing. I wish I had taken a picture but I completely forgot. Dessert was the last slice of red velvet birthday cake. I’ve been enjoying the leftovers all week but I guess the fun had to end at some point. 😦

The hubby and I have recently been looking at our cable TV usage. We have a DVR and a bazillion channels. I noticed that really we didn’t make use of 95% of the channels we got. And 99% of the shows we watch are available through hulu. Last week we talked about getting rid of cable TV and just using the antenna in our TV to get the free channels, and subscribing to hulu plus. This would save us at least $30 a month.

On Tuesday we pulled the plug and unplugged the DVR/Cable box. Then we reprogrammed the TV to find the channels that we got for free with the antenna. We still get about 20 channels – ABC, NBC, CBS, TBS, FOX, Discover, HSN, QVC, PBS, PCN, and a few others. This means that once football season starts we’ll be able to watch most of the games live. We have a computer hooked up to our TV so it makes watching shows on hulu super easy. The majority of the shows we watch are on hulu, and I love that you can set up alerts to add new episodes of your favorite shows to your queue automatically – it’s almost like having a DVR. The only channel I think I’m going to miss is Bravo, and my Real Housewives addiction. But I figure missing out on cat fights of the super-rich a few times week isn’t really going to make or break my sanity.

2 Responses to “Cutting the cable”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Diary of a slow runner - June 24, 2011

    […] then I’ve taken care of calling the cable company to cancel our service, laundry, packing for a quick trip tonight and makign some basic rice for a quick […]

  2. Happy Friday « Diary of a slow runner - June 24, 2011

    […] then I’ve taken care of calling the cable company to cancel our service, laundry, packing for a quick trip tonight and makign some basic rice for a quick […]

Leave a Reply

