Change of plans

26 Jun

The hubby and I had plans for a one day getaway yesterday, but he woke up with puffy irritated eyes. Needless to say we ended up going to the walk-in clinic nearby instead of going out of town. Bummer! But 1 antibiotic and 1 cream later he’s feeling and looking much better.

Instead we spent yesterday visiting with my parents and continuing to working through the seemingly endless pile of crap from my childhood there. We got a quick lunch at a local place that has a great garden bar that includes some of the best soup I’ve tasted in my life. They use mostly local ingredients to so I love supporting their business. In the evening we watched a movie and snacked on pizza.

I woke up early this morning to get in a 10k run. Last year my first 10k race was a complete disaster. I was at a wedding the night before so I was dehydrated and exhausted. Add the super hot sun and I just felt horrible the entire time. I’m running the race again this year (it’s in about three weeks) and I’m determined to ENJOY the race and feel like I did my best. So today was a trial run of the course. It’s super hilly so I took about four 1-minute walk breaks to keep my energy up and that helped a lot. I feel like I did well and am looking forward to another trial run in a week or two.

I was starving by the time I got home despite my pre-run granola & 1/2 banana. After a quick shower I made Van’s mini waffles with smart balance butter and a little bit of maple syrup. They hit the spot. Off to take care of a few things on our to do list!

One Response to “Change of plans”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Catching my breath « Diary of a slow runner - July 12, 2011

    […] determined to feel better while running it this year. I’ve prepped by running the course two times and this week I’m hydrating like I normally do before a half. I’ve been drinking […]

Leave a Reply

