Last weeks CSA box

10 Jul

This weekend has been quite the whirlwind. Friday night we had a rehearsal, rehearsal dinner and dessert reception for a wedding the hubby was in yesterday. Lots of food was eaten, nothing particularly noteworthy.

Yesterday morning I woke up at 6am to get in a 5 mile run with my dad in the morning. It felt great to get exercise out of the way before the craziness started. I dropped the hubby off with the other groomsmen in the late morning and picked up a wegmans burrito with lots of tofy to keep me full until what I knew would be a pretty late dinner. The wedding was gorgeous – in a traditional church with gorgous stained glass. I had two hours to kill between the ceremony and cocktail hour so I actually came home, changed out of my dress and relaxed on the sofa for about an hour. It was nice. That’s the beauty of small town living 🙂

Cocktail hour was good – I consumed lots of White Zinfandel. The reception was full of eating, dancing and glow sticks! oh and more White Zin. 🙂

I haven’t drank that much in a while so this morning I’m feeling it, but focusing on rehydrating, eating and relaxing. The recipe for the perfect Sunday!

We picked up our CSA last Tuesday but in the craziness of the week I didn’t get a chance to even look through it, much less chop and clean stuff until today.  Here’s what we got and how we plan to use it:

  • Carrots – chopped for stir fry
  • Cabbage – chopped for stir fry
  • Green onion – chopped for salads
  • 1 regular potato, 3 red skinned potatos – I think we’re going to try to make homemade potato chips with them. We’ll see how that goes.
  • Kale – added to my growing stash to make a batch of kale chips
  • Various other lettuces – perfect for salad
  • A mystery veggie – see that green thing above the red skinned potato? We have no idea what it is (or how to use it). Hopefully google can help with that.
One Response to “Last weeks CSA box”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Catching my breath « Diary of a slow runner - July 12, 2011

    […] determined to feel better while running it this year. I’ve prepped by running the course two times and this week I’m hydrating like I normally do before a half. I’ve been drinking lots […]

Leave a Reply

