Quinoa

13 Jul

Wowsa. Already Wednesday – major props for that! Yesterday after work I spent from 5pm-8pm working on the hubbys anniversary present. Our anniversary is in October but I had to get started on it ahead of time. It’s a surprise for him so it’s been tricky to sneak around getting things ready. But I should finally get to see the reward for my sneaking around in a few weeks. I’ll ultimately be giving it to him when we go to Mexico (yay for an all inclusive!) for our anniversary. You better believe I’m not going to even mention what it is on here, I’m trying so hard to keep this a complete secret from him!

After I “took care of things” I stopped by to get our CSA box. Lots of cool veggies this week! A photo and description will come soon, I had zero time last night to even begin cleaning, chopping, etc. Dinner was indian food over quinoa.Β  We’re trying to incorporate quinoa into our diets more, and pretty much replacing rice with it when possible. I was a little unsure of how it would taste when Indian food was put over it but it worked well! and it didn’t leave us with a super bloated feeling like rice tends to do. After a late dinner and watching a quick episode of Futurama, we hit the hay.

This morning I planned to get up and run but my body was craving sleep. I’m trying to take it a little bit easy in preparation for my 10k Sunday so I didn’t force myself to get a run in. I’ll see if I can squeeze it in this evening, but if not it’s no biggie.

Breakfast was nothing notable (granola + almond milk + blueberries mixed in). Lunch was another evol veggie curry wrap. They don’t photograph well but they taste awesome!!! Dinner tonight is probably going to be subway – something super quick – since we’ve got a meeting with a Realtor to tour our first round of houses! I’m so excited about this!

2 Responses to “Quinoa”

  1. Erica Lee July 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Just wanted to say hi! Found your blog off of the nest health and fitness boards. Looking forward to reading. I am from Central PA as well (Huntingdon area but from Altoona). Whereabouts are you? I am also running the Hershey Half in October. It will be my first!

    • Becca July 18, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Hi Erica! I’m in S.C. I went to college in Huntingdon so I know that area well πŸ™‚ Good luck in your training for the Hershey Half (I’m pretty excited but a little nervous too) – pop in here and let me know how it’s going!

Leave a Reply

