BRAT diet for a day

20 Jul

When I met with my doctor last week regarding the stomach discomfort I’ve been having she recommended getting blood work and going on the BRAT bland food diet for a day. I got the blood work done on Friday and decided to get the BRAT diet in today since I have a follow up scheduled on Monday. BRAT stands for four pretty bland foods – bananas, rice, apples, toast. It sounds super boring, and it is. I was instructed to stick to these four foods for a full day and record any discomfort I feel. But I’m trying to stick to it, at least during the work day, and still get in all my calories for the day.

This morning for breakfast I had three pieces of plain toast.

My mid morning snack was a cup of organic applesauce. I had no idea it would be so difficult to find applesauce without high fructose corn syrup in it (the hubby and I try to limit our intake of HFCS as much as possible). I’m glad I kept searching and finally found this stuff, it’s awesome. Lunch is a chopped up apple, banana and wrap filled with quinoa, sprouts and a little salt & pepper. The wrap didn’t taste too great so I took one bite and tossed the rest. I’m anticipating more applesauce in the mid afternoon. I’ll be interested to see what I can scrounge up for dinner, hopefully I can find something semi-bland.

One Response to “BRAT diet for a day”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not a morning runner « Diary of a slow runner - July 21, 2011

    […] experiment with sauteing them as a side dish for our meals this week. Last night I broke the BRAT diet and sauteed up some zuchini and yellow squash with curry powder and a little bit of salt and pepper. […]

Leave a Reply

