Friday mystery vegetable

2 Sep

Happy Friday!

After a pretty busy morning at work, I had a half day at work today so I got out at 11am. I went straight to the grocery store and got our weekly shopping done. I saved $10 by using coupons – that’s pretty good for us since a lot of what we buy doesn’t have coupons. I was pretty psyched! The grocery store was a little bit of a mad house because the first home football game of the local team is this weekend + it’s labor day, so I got out of there as fast as i could. I had to stop by Target for a few things and I was shocked at how empty it was by comparison – it felt like a ghost town!

After running errands I came home, put the groceries away, got changed and got out the door for a long run. I’m really liking being able to squeeze them in on Fridays because then my long run is checked off the list before the weekend even really begins! I had 90 minutes planned, and I got those 90 minutes done. My ipod died within the first mile which was a bummer but I just went with it. Hearing only the sounds of my footsteps was actually a pretty nice change. I also experimented with Honey Stinger Energy Chews. They tasted good and were easy to eat but I didn’t feel the extra energy I normally feel after taking Gels. I’ll give them another shot though.

When I got home from my run I hopped in the shower. I was starving by the time I got out and luckily I had a Wegmans Frozen Bean, Cheese & Veggie burrito that I could microwave up. The burrito + some grocery store brand gatorade was the lunch of champions.

It tasted better than this picture looks.

drink of champions

I spent the rest of the afternoon doing laundry, watching TV on and off and chopping up CSA veggies.

Lots of green beans

I came across another mystery veggie. This one is yellow and roundish. When you cut it open it looks and tastes exactly like a cucumber. So I’m guessing it’s probably another type of cucumber. Any thoughts?

???

The hubby and I just got done watching Forks over Knives on Netflix instant queue. I highly recommend it if you’re interested in understanding the potential impacts of diet to health. It’s not as emotionally charged as Food Inc, and instead focuses on scientific data and studies and what they show.

wow I didn’t expect to be so long winded. 🙂 I hope your Friday night is a good one!

2 Responses to “Friday mystery vegetable”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pinterest Strikes Again « Diary of a slow runner - September 4, 2011

    […] After sleeping in I started the day with chocolate chip kodiak cakes. There are some definite pluses to getting my long run out of the way on fridays. […]

  2. Rain rain go away « Diary of a slow runner - September 6, 2011

    […] Friday […]

Leave a Reply

