Thankful Thursdays: so, I’m sick

6 Oct

So, I’m sick. I’ve got a nice little head cold going on. It’s awesome.

Yesterday around 2pm my head started feeling heavy and groggy and it continued to get worse as the day went on. I knew that heated yoga wouldn’t be a good idea because the last thing I want to do is mess with my body temperature or spread my icky germs.

I spent all evening under a blanket and watching TV with the kitties while the hubby took care of dinner and made me lots of tea. Then I went into a deep cold medicine induced sleep. I’m feeling better today and am back at work but doped up on daytime cold medicine, tea, ricola and am carrying tissues. I have off tomorrow so I figured I just had to get through today.

going from a high of 44 to a high of 70 three days later is NOT normal

For the record, I’m blaming the bipolar weather here this week for my sickness. A 30 degree swing kind of messes with my immune system.

Needless to say being thankful today seems a little daunting but I’ll give it my best shot.

I’m thankful I did two 10 mile runs to train for my next half (a little over a week away, yikes) and that I did them before this week. I would be majorly stressing if I had to do a super long run this weekend since I feel crappy today.

I’m thankful for getting two packs of Ricola in a previous race packet – I think it was the USAF 10k? Cuz wow, it was nice to be able to reach into the cabinet and grab a pack to bring to work today. They’re so good too – honey-y and minty. yummy when you’re sick.

I’m thankful for the lunch delivery service at work. I didn’t want to pack a lunch last night because I was too busy feeling gross on the couch. I don’t want to go out in public to a restaurant. I don’t want to drive anywhere. Delivery is perfect for these types of situations.Cheese fries and salad with homemade italian dressing. perfect. I haven’t had cheese fries since I was like five and I saw them and had to order them. oh and garlic bread that apparently comes with the salad. leftovers here I come.

I’m thankful that I have a four day work week this week so today is my Friday. I have a long list of errands to take care of and two lunch dates (yes two, I’m that popular) tomorrow so hopefully I’ll be feeling better by then. At least I can sleep in until 8:30. it’s that that’s sleeping in to me isn’t it?

I’m thankful for my husband, family, friends, kitties, heath (I’ve only got a head cold, I’ll consider myself lucky) and job. When someone famous and influential passes away it always serves as a reminder for me to remember and be grateful for what I have.  I am very lucky.

That wasn’t so difficult or daunting after all.

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

