Cupcakes and gatorade

10 Oct

Where to begin, where to begin. This weekend was a good mix of doing stuff and sitting on my butt. I like those kind of weekends. 🙂

Saturday I started the day with an hour long run. It was hot and sunny – not my favorite running conditions, but I felt pretty good and ready for 13.1 this Sunday.

The hubby and I ran some errands in the afternoon and I picked up a running skirt and a new pair of spandex shorts from targets C9 sale racks. I really like the skirt – it’s super cute and has longer shorts built in than my other one. The only thing I’m not a fan of is the fact that there are no pockets. But it was on sale for $13 bucks so I figure it’ll be good for training and shorter runs. I’ll have to wear my older moving comfort one for the half this weekend though.

Dinner on Saturday was lazy – we ordered Thai food. I got drunken noodles which is thin noodles with curry and lots of veggies and tofu. It hit the spot and I had leftovers for Sunday which was perfect. I love ethnic food leftovers.

Sunday I stayed in bed until 10ish and managed to stay in my PJs until 1pm. Score!

After a kodiak cake breakfast I got in a baking mood and mixed up some Nutella Cupcakes. This recipe was another Pinterest find.

I ended up having to mix up the wet ingredients (butter, oil, eggs, vanilla) twice because I neglected to read the instructions properly and the emphasis on room temperature butter. The first time around I had some nice chunks of butter that wouldn’t mix in. ugh.

The dough was a very thick dense dough.

As I scooped them into the tray and swirled the nutella in, I had an idea. Biscoff Spread! duh. So I swirled biscoff spread into 3 of the 12 just to see how it would work.20 minutes later (our oven gets super hot so I have to bake things for less time) they were done!The nutella came out almost hard, like frosting. The biscoff spread seemed to still be a little creamy. The hubby and I split a nutella one and it was really good, I’m excited to try a biscoff one next. The cupcakes are a little bit more dense than traditional cupcakes (because the dough is dense to facilitate swirling the nutella), so I think next time I would bake them for a little bit less time to make them a little softer hopefully. Here’s the recipe if you want it.

After baking away we met up with my parents and grandmother for dinner before heading to the hubby’s coworkers house for a homemade ice cream party – yum!

This morning when I got into work and looked outside I noticed the gorgeous fall colors that are coming out! I love this time of year.

I’m starting to fuel and hydrated for the half on Sunday so I managed to drink 32 oz of store brand gatorade this morning and am planning to down 32 oz of water this afternoon.

32 oz down, 32 oz to go

Lunch today is an egg white salad sandwhich on a multi-grain sandwich thin, some raw csa veggies with salad dressing, an apple from my apple excursion on friday, and some watermelon.

The plan tonight is to get in a 30 minute run – my last one before the half!

Enjoy the rest of your Monday!

2 Responses to “Cupcakes and gatorade”

  1. Amanda @ There Are Two Sides October 10, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    I’ll bet you are SO geeked for your half!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maple nut oatmeal « Diary of a slow runner - October 12, 2011

    […] Lunch is an egg white salad on a multi-grain sandwich thin, csa veggies with salad dressing, an apple from the fruit farm and a nutella cupcake. […]

Leave a Reply

