Thankful Thursdays: interest rates, job offers and vegetables

3 Nov

I have a lot to be thankful for. Yesterday was a really really good day.

I’m thankful for yesterdays low interest rates. The hubby and I pulled the trigger for our mortgage application and locked in our rate. This is a huge step that we both feel really great about. I’m not ready to share much more than that – I don’t want to jinx anything – but once things start to happen I’ll be updating more about our house adventures.

I’m thankful that yesterday I got a job offer letter. It’s for the job I already do, but instead of working a weird part-time type of schedule, as of today I am now full time. YAY for paid sick and vacation time!

I’m thankful for Google Calendar and Tasks. And the fact that they both sync with apps in my phone. This week has been about getting back into the groove, which also running around like crazy people with house related meetings. Having a to do list (really, when do I ever not have one) and my calendar has helped to keep our schedules straight while making sure a bunch of miscellaenous things get done that need to get done.
I’m thankful for my hubby and the fact that yesterday after I told him the job news and the interest rate news he said “lets go out to dinner this weekend – anywhere you want!” Sounds good to me.

I’m thankful for our upcoming weekend of pretty much no plans. I’m hoping to bake a few things in the kitchen (biscoff fudge and peanut butter granola) and catch up on my hulu queue from last week.

I’m thankful  for running. I banged out 30 minutes last night after work. The weather was perfect, I wore my Hershey Half tech shirt, and it felt good to be getting back on track.

I’m thankful for a fridge full of healthy food. The endless buffets and desserts and snacks and crepes last week were great, but it’s nice to eat vegtables and fruit again.

2 Responses to “Thankful Thursdays: interest rates, job offers and vegetables”

  1. Melinda November 7, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    I just discovered your blog and I love it. I am a slow runner too – a little slower than you. My half marathon PR is 3:19-something at a Disney race. They are my favorite races! I got the Coast-to-Coast medal this year. My first race ever was June 2010 (a half, for which I did NO training). Bad idea. I’ve since done 6 halfs total and lots of 5k’s and an odd 7k thrown in there. My next race is Jan 29 at Disneyland – the inaugural Tinkerbell half. I’m a vegetarian, too, so I hope to hear more from you on that topic as well. Since I started running I haven’t quite mastered what to eat to keep going! I hear quinoa is good, but I haven’t made it yet. Well, happy running, and please keep blogging!

    • Becca November 7, 2011 at 8:12 am #

      Melinda, I’m glad you enjoy my blog. Slow runners unite! I love the Disney races too, I hope to do the Disney World Half Marathon in January 2013! Have a great time at the Tinkerbell half – I’m sure it will be a blast like all of the Disney races! Quinoa is a great substitute for rice – I use it a lot and eat it with stir fry, indian food, etc. I really enjoy it because it doesn’t leave you feeling “overly full” like rice can do. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

