Lots and lots of cookies

12 Dec

I hope your weekend was a great one!

My weekend started on Friday with my mental health day. Friday evening, a BIG box was delivered to us. It was… our new CAT TREE! I joked with the hubby that we have become THOSE people who buy furniture for their cats. I’ve always wanted to get one of these things though, so we finally gave in – tis the season! It took about half an hour to put together, it was pretty simple actually. And the kitties LOVE it.

Not *too* tacky, right? For now, it’s in our living room, but I figure once we move into a house I’ll put it in a spare bedroom by a window. πŸ™‚

Saturday morning I woke up early to drive about 2 hours to meet a friend from my previous job to do some outlet shopping!We got there at 9:30 am, it was EMPTY. By the time we left (around 3ish) people were fighting for parking spaces. It was nuts. But we both found some pretty great deals.

I was shopping primarily for myself, and I gave myself a $75Β  budget. I came away with:

  • A blue “waffle” long sleeved thermal shirt, purple tank top, flannel pajama bottoms and two pairs of fluffy winter-y socks for $25 from the Gap outlet,
  • Two awesome champion sports bras for $40 from the Hanes outlet.

Total = ~$65, Mission accomplished! I have been looking for some replacement sports bras for a while now and I think the ones I got are going to work great! I’ll definitely post a review if I like them.

I got home from a day of shopping around dinner time and then went to meet up with another friend at Olive Garden to chat and get drinks.Β  All in all a really good day.

Yesterday I started the day with some straightening up with the hubby and then I did a quick 30 minute run in the cold weather – I think it was in the teens. yuck.

After showering and a quick lunch we packed up my Kitchen Aid mixer and went to my parents house for a full day of cookie baking. My mom has a Kitchen Aid stand mixer too, and I’ll tell ya, it was awesome to have two going at a time. It definitely made mixing up the doughs go super fast!

We spent SEVEN HOURS baking cookies. It was fun, but I was super tired and my feet were aching onces we got to the last batch. Here’s what we made:

Crescent Cookies

Molasses Cookies

Sugar cookie dough balls! Half with icing, half without.

Pressed Cookies

And the least Christmasy of all, that the hubby insisted on making and thus had to pretty much roll out and cut himself…

Star Wars Sugar Cookies

We have a ton of cookies in our kitchen right now. I can’t wait to get back tonight and snack on some. πŸ™‚

Workouts planned this week:
Monday – 30 minute run
Tuesday – Heated yoga (60 minutes)
Wednesday – EA Active arms and abs
Thursday – 30 minute run
Friday – Zumba
Saturday – Longer run
Sunday – Rest

Enjoy your Monday!

2 Responses to “Lots and lots of cookies”

  1. Amanda @ There Are Two Sides December 13, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Holy cookies! OMG now I need cookies!!!

    And that cat tree looks great! I would love to get one for my girls but since we got the puppy 5ish weeks ago they have been hiding more and more…

    • Becca December 13, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      They may actually really like a place they can “perch” high up from the puppy!

Leave a Reply

