Christmas gift, vanilla gu and quiche

17 Dec

Happy Saturday! I hope your weekend is off to a good start.

Last night when we got home from work my Christmas present from the hubby was waiting. As an aside, this year we didn’t spend much on each other, in fact we both picked out our presents that we wanted. We figured our money is all in the same bank account anyhow and we both might as well pick something out that we really want.

I picked…

medal hanger

…a medal hanger from Allied Medal Displays! I have been wanting one of these for a while but didn’t feel I had enough bling to hang on it. Once I completed my fourth half marathon in October I finally felt I had earned enough to buy one of these. When the hubby suggested it as my Christmas present, I jumped at the chance. I was super impressed with the quality from the second it came out of the box – it is super slick looking. It wasn’t difficult to hang up either. Now I look at it every time I walk into the bedroom. Talk about something to motivate you to keep going!

This morning I woke up, ate a quick granola breakfast and ran a few errands. Once I got home I switched the laundry over and headed out for a run. I ran a nice slow 4.5 miles. Part of the way through I broke open the Vanilla Bean Gu I got a few weeks ago. I don’t normally use gels/gus for anything shorter than seven miles but I’m trying to find the best schedule for me to fuel on so I wanted to try taking something after two miles.

(source)

I’ve read mixed reviews of the Vanilla Bean Gu but I really really liked it. It was a nice change from the citrus tastes I’m used to during races between other gels and gatorade.  The texture was not gross at all either. I was pleasantly surprised! I’m looking forward to trying the other flavors I picked up to see what they’re like.

After running and showering I put together a quick crustless Quiche. This idea popped into my head a few days ago when I was thinking about all the random leftover stuff we had in the fridge. I took the egg beaters equivalent of 5 eggs, 1/2 c milk, leftover Quorn “beef” crumbles, half of a small onion (chopped) and a handful of cheese. I just mixed it all together in a greased pie plate and cooked it at 350 for 30 minutes.quiche

It came out super tasty! Don’t mind the little hole in it – I was checking to make sure it was cooked the full way through and realized after I cut into it that I needed to grab a photo.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

I’ve got a rest day tomorrow, woo!

Workouts planned this week:
Monday – 30 minute run
Tuesday – EA Active arms and abs
Wednesday – Heated yoga (60 minutes)
Thursday – 30 minute run
Friday – Zumba

Saturday – Longer run
Sunday – Rest

Leave a Reply

