The need for speed

21 Dec

I’m starting to feel a little bit better.

From the time I got home from work until 9:30 last night I was curled up under a blanket watching mindless TV.  Around 9:30 I fell into a cold-medicine induced sleep and slept like a log. I woke up this morning for work pretty easily. I’m not 100% yet but  hoping I’m on the way to feeling better. I don’t think I’m going to be up for hot yoga tonight – being in a super hot room in close proximity to others just doesn’t sound appealing right now. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get in a yoga session, strength and a run by the end of the week though, we will see.

Onto something a little more exciting…

I’ve noticed that I have gotten significantly slower when training for my first four half marathons over the past year. I don’t need to start actively training for my next half marathon until the beginning-ish of March so I looked around at a plan that would help me get faster while still maintaining endurance for medium length long runs. I think I’ve settled on Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 5k plan. I really do best when I have a written down plan that I can cross of my workouts from.


I did make a few modifications to Higdon’s original plan.

  • I reduced the running days to three a week. I’ve learned from past experience that four or five days of running a week is just too much.
  • I added in Yoga 1x a week and Strength training with bands on the Wii 1x a week.
  • In addition, my Fridays are blank right now, mostly because my previous Zumba session ended and won’t be restarting until mid January. Zumba classes may end up being on a different day of the week, causing me to have to shift my other workouts around. Until mid-January I plan on doing EA Active on the Wii, an easy run or some other sort of exercise to fill that day.

I’ve also jotted down any weekend plans I know of coming up so that it’s easier to plan long runs.

I really really loathe speed work and tempo runs, but I’m hoping incorporating it one day a week  will be doable and will help!

Enjoy your Wednesday. I’ve got 1.5 work days til 2012 left! Counting down…

One Response to “The need for speed”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The day after Christmas « Diary of a slow runner - December 26, 2011

    […] and spent the morning/early afternoon bumming around. I did get out for a 30 minute run to start my plan for speed though. I also ran a few errands and we ordered a few odds and ends online that we’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

