Resolution Run 5k

4 Jan

What better way to end the year than with a 5k?!

This is my second time doing this local race. I had to miss out on it last year due to a random foot injury I got but I was so excited to get to run it this year.

The weather was nice, in the low 40s, slightly windy but not too bad. The last time I ran this race it was FREEZING, so it was nice to have warmer temperatures.

I wore running tights, a long sleeved running shirt, my new running vest, and gloves. It was perfect.

Sorry I have no photos, my biggest regret was not having my camera with me last night!

Mile 1 started off well, though there was a ton of bottle necking from people not lining up properly. One downside to a small local race I guess. There was a long incline as well, so I’m pretty happy wtih my time. 12:11.

Around mile 0.5 I started getting a pretty bad cramp in my left side. I kept breathing into it to try to get it to go away. But it just seemed to get worse and worse. Around mile 1.5 I decided I had to take a walking break, I was starting to feel nauseas from the pain as it intesified and then moved to my right side in my rib cage. I took a 2 minute walking break. There was also a another smaller but more steep hill in mile 2. 12:42.

Mile 3 is the best mile of this course – its pretty flat with an awesomely fun hill at the end where you can really gun it. Unfortunatly I was still REALLY cramping up. I don’t know what was going on, but the pain was intense. But running down the hill was awesome and I started slowly picking off people had passed me when I stopped to walk. 12:16.

For the last 0.1, you turn the corner at the bottom of the huge hill and run down the main strip of the town to the finish. I gunned it and tried to pass more people. I was cramping still, but knew it would be over soon. 26 seconds (10:16 pace – whoa).

I was glad to stop running after I crossed the finish but did feel I had more energy I could have used. Stupid cramping.

But all in all I’m pretty happy with how I did. I can be faster though, it’s not a PR by any stretch. But, a good way to end 2011, for sure!

Garmin stats:

Mile 1 – 12:11
Mile 2 – 12:42
Mile 3 – 12:16
Mile 3.1 – 26 seconds (10:16 pace)

37:36
*3.04 mi I started my watch a little late after crossing the finish, so I’d add about 15 seconds to my garmin time, making it 37:51.

Official time: 38:53 – I find it pretty hard to believe that my watch would be a full minute off. ย But OT is OT I guess.

3 Responses to “Resolution Run 5k”

  1. specialkkluthe January 4, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    I did a race a couple of weeks ago and my official finish time was also a minute off from my watch time, which confused me because I’m pretty sure it didn’t take me an entire minute to get to the start line, even if the race start was a gun start. But oh wells. Congrats on the race!

    • Becca January 5, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      Yea, I figure I’ll trust my watch time on this one since there was no timing mat at the start.

  2. Amanda @ There Are Two Sides January 5, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Honestly, trust the watch. A full minute off is crazy!

    And way to kick ass during the race!!!

Leave a Reply

