Head games

13 Feb

Happy Monday! well that’s my attempt at being excited about a new week, haha.

I hope your weekend was great and your week is off to a good start!

Our weekend was pretty low key. We spent Saturday at my parents place taking care of some miscellaneous things and doing a “first draft” of our taxes. Yesterday was spent being super lazy, with random bouts of productiveness here and there. It was a good mix of productivity and not doing anything. I like weekends like that. πŸ™‚

Oh and I didn’t run or do any other type of sweating. I was thisclose to going to yoga yesterday morning and then decided against it, feeling like I should give myself a full week break from major exercise.

But it’s back to the grind today.

I spent some time getting together a plan for my next Half on May 6th and I’m ready to get back into it. I’ve incorporated some speed work too, because I really need it!Β  I’ll be running 3 days a week, and adding a 4th day around the end of March. Cross training will be a day of yoga and a day of Zumba.

I hope this plan will build my confidence and my speed, both of which I desperately need. I really play a lot of head games with myself when I run and it’s become more and more difficult to push through discomfort. I really need to get a handle on the negativity that goes through my head. And hopefully, starting at a low mileage for my long runs and slowly building up to 11 miles before the race will help with this. I try my hardest to be positive, but sometimes it just doesn’t happen. And the negative thinking really affects my performance when I run – a lot. I always say that running is seriously 90% mental for me.Β  It can make or break a run or race.

I’ve been building up my Work Outs pinboard on Pinterest with all things inspirational so that I have ideas I can go back to when the going gets tough.

Anyone else deal with negative thinking during exercise and have suggestions on how to push through it?

So, with all that said…

This weeks exercise plan:

Monday – Hot Power Yoga
Tuesday – Zumba
Wednesday – 3 mile run
Thursday – Strength?
Friday – 2 Mile Tempo Run with warm ups and cool down
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – 4 mile long run

Lets make it a good one!

4 Responses to “Head games”

  1. mizunogirl February 13, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    I oddly do not deal with Negative thoughts while I am running, usually its before and after. One thing that has helped me was to log everything on DailyMile. and now, when I feel slow, I can look back to about a year ago and see what slow really is. It has been a huge confidence builder as I can see tangible progress.
    There are books and books written about negative self talk and athletic performance, probably easily gotten at the public library.
    Oooh, One other thing that has helped me was to Say “I like this” a lot when I was not enjoying something (My Job at the time). Oddly after doing that for 2 weeks, I found I did Like things more….it was strange. BUt I still practice that a bit when I struggle, with my job….
    The Pittsburgh race is supposed to be really fun. One of my Swifter friends may be runing the Marathon….I avoid things like that will you know…Hills.

    • Becca February 15, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      That’s a good point. I do log my runs on Runners World but looking back at where I’ve come from would definitely be helpful.
      Haha, yea Pittsburgh is supposed to be great, and gorgeous! I’ve heard the half isn’t too hilly, but we will see.

  2. specialkkluthe February 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I can also struggle mentally with running – mostly when I’m feeling god-awfully slow, I just want to throw in the towel because I think “What’s the point?” I just did a half yesterday that had 2 start waves – the first was for those running 2:30 and slower, the second for 2:30 or faster. I wanted to finish faster than 2:30 so I signed up for the wave 2 (mistake). I ended up being the last runner, which isn’t the end of the world, but it messed with my head big time. Luckily, a friend joined me at mile 2.5 and got me out of my head funk and back into just enjoying the run. So maybe running with someone else would help?

    So I understand how you feel – speed work has helped me get a little faster but I think accepting my pace for what it is, is the real solution.

    • Becca February 15, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      The same thing happens to me! I just think, why even bother if I’m so slow! I do run with my dad sometimes which definitely helps my speed, hopefully we’ll be doing some of our long runs together this time around.

Leave a Reply

