An update on my 2012 goals

16 Aug

Back at the beginning of the year, like much of the blog world I posted my goals for the upcoming year (though I refused to call them resolutions in case I felt like changing them).

I thought it would be good to take a look and see how much progress I’m making since its a little more than half way through the year.

Work out 6 days a week (3x running, 1x yoga, 1x zumba, 1x strength).
I’ve been running pretty consistently 3 or 4 days a week, and I did Zumba up until a few weeks ago when the session ended (and plan to start up in the Fall again). I got out of the Yoga routine in the first few months of the year but am back at it and try to do it every weekend I’m home. Strength, however, has been a mighty fail. I’m going to try to figure out how to work this in for the second half of the year.

– Drink more water!!!
Some weeks are better than others. I’m working on it though.

– Run at least 3 half marathons.
I ran the Pittsburgh half and Cleveland half in May. I’m signed up for another half in September. I’m happy to say I’ve made some serious progress on this one. πŸ™‚

– Get more consistent with calorie tracking and get a good idea of where I’m at with my daily intake and burn.
I haven’t been doing as well with this as I would have liked. The most difficult part for me is figuring out the calories in homemade foods. It’s a lot of “work” and tough to stay motivated to do it.

– Close on a house. Sayonara apartment living.
CHECK this sucker off the list! We closed on March 16th. I’m glad the whole building/buying/closing process is behind us and now we can focus on our future and getting settled!

– Pay off the hubbys car. Ideally we hope to pay off his car before we start having to pay a mortgage, which is a pretty aggressive goal but I think we can do it.
CHECK! With the added bonus of paying off his car before the mortgage payments rolled in.

– Build more savings. Why is this not a good idea? πŸ™‚
Getting there. This is sort of always in progress isn’t it?

– Learn to code via http://codeyear.com. I don’t need to code in my current position but went to school for Information Technology, so I think this would be a great way to refresh my knowledge and develop some more skills that would help me do my job.
I haven’t been specifically working through the website listed above, but I have been a part of a “programmers training” group at work that’s helping me refresh my skills. So I call this one a success so far.

So far, so good. I’ve got a few things to keep working on but who doesn’t? Here’s to the last half of 2012!

One Response to “An update on my 2012 goals”

  1. mizunogirl August 17, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    SOunds Like a wonderful year for you! I’m not commenting on mine, because frankly, I am too too tired!

Leave a Reply

