What I’ve been up to (running-wise at least)

30 Aug

The past couple of weeks I have been working my booty off to up my mileage and build up my base. It has been a long time goal of mine to get out there for a run consistently four days a week. It has always been something I tried to to but really never succeeded. 3 days a week seemed to be the sweet spot for me.

But I always knew that 3 days a week was not enough to build up my mileage or get any faster. I also knew that instead of running 30 minutes, I needed to bump it up to 3 miles (~37 mins or so). I’ve read over and over that more time on my feet would be beneficial.

So about a month ago I started on a 4 day a week plan. 1 long run on either saturday or sunday, 2 easy runs of 3 miles, and either a 3rd 3 miler, or close to 3 miles of speed work, including warm up and cool down (I’ve been sticking with 4x400s).

And it has gone great. I’ve hit that 4 day a week goal almost every week since I’ve started, and overall I feel stronger when I run. It seems like the extra time on my feet has really been helping.

I’ve been bumping my long run mileage up every week too – about a mile or two depending on how I feel. Last weekend was 11 miles (woo!).

There is of course a reason for all of this.

I’ll be running my 3rd half of the year next Saturday in the little town of Bird In Hand, PA.
birdinhandhalflogo

(source)

I signed up for this half because I really really wanted a fall goal. I picked this one because it just seems so different and unique.

Things like “Weaves around the beautiful Amish farmlands of Lancaster County”, “Follow “pace buggies” which lead off the races”, “Refresh at water stations staffed by Amish families” and “Visit rest stops at Amish one-room schoolhouses” just screamed to me SIGN UP THIS IS GOING TO BE COOL. Not to mention hot air balloon rides and a bonfire and s’more party with Bart Yasso (you know he’s my fav)?!

I am super psyched because this round of training has just felt so good. Of course I’ve had crappy runs, who doesn’t? But overall, I feel really confident. I’m hoping to get in around 8 miles this weekend, a few 3 milers next week and then taper it out for a few days before race day. I know the course isn’t going to be the easiest, hill-wise so honestly I haven’t set any time goals. But it all just feels right.

2 Responses to “What I’ve been up to (running-wise at least)”

  1. Angie September 2, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    So glad to have stumbled across your blog. I found it searching for info on the hershey half on google awhile back. Anyway, I live in Lancaster county and I am anxious to hear how the bird in hand half goes for you. I was thinking about running it last year but I ended up doing the Rock n Roll half in Philly instead and this year I am doing the Hershey half.

    • Becca September 4, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Awesome! RnR Philly was my first half, that’s a fun one. Hershey is fun too – small town race, lots of culture, its cool to run through the parks and the town. The big surprise for me was the hills, so if you live nearby I totally recommend doing a few long runs in Hershey if you have the opportunity. Good luck! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

