Taper Week

4 Sep

WordPress just ate the post that I had spent about 10 minutes typing up. So, that’s cool. Let me see if I can try to rewrite it now…

I hope your Labor Day weekend was a good one. We spent the weekend catching up on stuff around the house, going to a neighborhood BBQ, taking my Grandma to dinner for her 81st (!) birthday and relaxing with the Netflix Instant TV Shows. It was a good one.

I also managed to get in a 5 mile run on Saturday (I was hoping for closer to 8 but it was freaking humid and I was dehydrated from a few drinks on Friday night), and hot yoga on Sunday (which kicked my ass).

This week is technically my taper week for the Bird In Hand Half but I’m trying something different this time around. I want to keep my mileage up as much as is comfortable, since I feel strong on my long runs that way. So, here’s the plan for the week…
Monday – 3 miles – check.
Tuesday – 3 miles, Zumba – check on the 3 miles this AM.
Wednesday – 3 miles
Thursday – Rest
Friday – Rest
Saturday – Race Day!
Sunday – Walk 4 miles, hot yoga

I’m majorly looking forward to the fact that the race is on Saturday. That means I’ll have Saturday afternoon/Sunday to do the normal thing and enjoy the rest of my weekend.

Anyhow, that’s the plan, hopefully it all works out okay. πŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “Taper Week”

  1. mizunogirl September 5, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    I can not wait to hear about this race. I think it is close to where my parents live, so it would be one I’d like to do someday, but I also suspect there may be some hills….

    • Becca September 5, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      I suspect there may be some hills too, according to the elevation chart it looks like there may be a big one around mile 2 but that’s about it. We’ll see πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

