Tonsillectomy

24 Sep

Hey there.

I’m not sure if anyone here follows me on twitter, but if you do you might have seen a few tweets last week…

A week ago I had my tonsils and adenoids removed. I try to make this blog to focus mainly on running but every now and then some personal stuff pops in. Anyhow, back to what happened.

Earlier this year I was diagnosed with a few heart conditions. The way I actually found out about them was originally going to see my doctor about fatigue and stomach cramping. Long story short, I did two sleep studies (they are not fun, trust me) one regular and one with a CPAP. I was diagnosed with mild sleep apnea. The studies showed wake up about 8 times an hour which was slightly improved with a CPAP.

My entire life I have been told my doctors and dentists that I have large tonsils and adenoids. I even (embarrassingly) snore. My snoring has been something that has been an extremely sensitive subject my whole life – both with friends and family. When I was little my parents were told by a doctor that as long as my snoring wasn’t waking ME up, there was no need to get them removed. However, as shown by the sleep studies there was potential that they were effecting my quality of sleep without me realizing it.

After the sleep studies I met with an Ear Nose & Throat Doctor and a Sleep Doctor to review my results and talk about the next steps. I went in knowing that if I was a good candidate for the surgery, I would much rather go that route than get a CPAP. Both doctors supported me in this, saying that I was a prime candidate for surgery, and the Sleep Doctor told me he had confidence it would take me from having mild apnea to none at all. After meeting with them, the decision was clear. I scheduled the surgery and was able to get in for it a few weeks later.

I’m not going to go into detail about the surgery (if anyone out there is going to be going through this and would like to know more about it from a patients perspective, feel free to email me), but I went in at 6:15am last Monday and was home by 9:30. Gotta love outpatient surgery.

I was told the recovery would take 7-10 days. I’m now on day 8 and I find this totally accurate. I took last week off of work, and hope to be back tomorrow afternoon or Wednesday morning. Last week was tough, especially Tuesday and Wednesday. Swallowing was painful and I had a lot of nausea from the pain meds and antibiotics. Because swallowing was so painful I haven’t eaten much in a week, and my body is weak. But I’m doing better and can already tell that I’m sleeping better, which was the whole point of this anyhow.

How is this changing my running? Well, it’s been non-existant since last Sunday. And honestly, I have felt so crappy that I haven’t missed it. I skipped Zumba last week and will be missing it this week as well. I’m hoping to get back on the running train on Saturday or Sunday with a short 3 miler.

A temporary break from running, but I think it will be well worth it to feel well rested during the day. 🙂

4 Responses to “Tonsillectomy”

  1. Kathy September 24, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Hope you have a speedy recovery and that the surgery is a success!

    • Becca October 2, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

      Thank you for the well wishes!

  2. jacob October 2, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    I am a 27 year old male, I am a runner, I snore, and I have terrible seasonal allergies. I am considering seeing my doctor a out this. I wake up sore and cranky daily. I have since I was at least 12 years old. But it may have started earlier than that. I have learned to cope with it. I have learned to control my crankiness. After all, it isn’t anyone else’s fault I wake up feeling terrible.

    I just wondered if this is something I may need to see a doctor about? Could I skip the sleep study? Would I benefit from the surgery in the way of allergy relief? Is life after the recovery a night and day difference; as far as waking well rested is concerned?

    • Becca October 2, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      I am not a medical professional by any stretch, but I would definitely recommend seeing your primary care doctor about it. From there they could recommend sleep studies and/or surgery if they feel it would be helpful (which mine did). I am already feeling much better rested since the surgery, but that is based on my individual situation, and you truly should see a doctor to see if a surgery like that is the right solution for you.

Leave a Reply

