Chilly

8 Nov

Whew, it is getting cold in my neck of the woods. Thanks to the cold from hurricane Sandy brought in the temps for my 6am runs have dropped to the mid 20s. 20s!

Yesterday when I stepped out to run I literally thought my face was going to freeze off. Today I planned a little better and wrapped a scarf around my nose and mouth. But despite my running tights-scarf-long sleeved shirt-jacket-ear cover-gloves outfit it was still really chilly.

It seems to be affecting my legs too, Β even after 3 miles my muscles do not feel warmed up at all. Instead they feel like 10 lb weights which is not to fun.

I’m thinking a change of shoes may be in order (my current ones have about 360 miles) to hopefully help out my dead legs. The hubby and I are thisclose to buying a treadmill. That will at least make my week day 3 milers a little easier and warmer. I could even wear shorts (YAY)!

But my long runs are really still going to have to be outside. 10+ miles on a treadmill just is not fun.

How do you deal with cold weather?

6 Responses to “Chilly”

  1. Urban Running Girl November 8, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    For short runs, I stick with my treadmill, but for longer runs, I dare the cold. I really don’t love it, but it beats doing 10+KM on the treadmill. I bundle up with a few layers if I have to, and make sure I have warm gloves, socks and of course, a great hat that covers my ears.

    • Becca November 8, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      My plan is to do the longer runs outside too – agree with you that it beats the treadmill!

  2. specialkkluthe November 8, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    The gear makes all the difference. I wear wool socks, 2 pairs of pants (1 being my cold weather UnderArmour ones), and I bought a Brooks jacket last year that is AMAZING in the cold: http://www.brooksrunning.com/Silver-Bullet-Jacket/220382325.020,default,pd.html?start=1&cgid=womens-apparel-nightlife
    It’s a little spendy, but totally worth it (I was able to find it for about $100 so look around). The jacket is so warm that for 20 degree runs, I can wear a t-shirt underneath it and still be warm. And I can’t wear it for any run 40 degrees or warmer. I actually did a half marathon last February where it was NINE degrees at the start. With that Brooks jacket, I was plenty warm. I also wear warm winter fleece gloves and a hat or ear warmer depending on the temps. For really cold runs, I also wear a turtlefur neck warmer: http://www.turtlefur.com/Necks/b/5441975011?ie=UTF8&title=Necks Hope that helps!

    • Becca November 8, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      Nine degrees! Wow! Thanks for the links, I have some ideas for Christmas presents now. πŸ™‚

  3. mizunogirl November 9, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    Cold Weather? Well, I moved to Florida! Wow 20’s is not something I could handle. I do think going for the run a little later in the day may help as well…. Have a great winter running season! Some people depending on level of fitness actually just break up the long run into 2 sections, one in the am and one in the pm.

    • Becca November 16, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      hahaha I am jealous that you live in the much warmer climates than I do. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

