A Pain Free Run!

23 Dec

It’s been a pretty busy past couple of days. The last few days of the work for the week were spent making sure I was caught up on everything. I took Friday off from work and WENT FOR A RUN! Pain Free! I was thrilled. I did an easy 3 miles with my dad, taking walk breaks whenever I felt like it. My foot felt a little stiff but there was no pain when I ran. It was a little sore after I finished but felt completely fine by Saturday. My husbands mom and sister came to visit Friday evening, so Friday evening, Saturday and today was filled with wine, food, cookies, naps and more wine.

I did manage to wake up early and squeeze in another run today tough.Β I ran a little under six miles. It was glorious. I planned to do three again, but was feeling good (zero pain!) so I just kept going. It was tough to stop at six – I wanted to keep going – but I was trying to be smart. And my foot felt completely fine post-run – yay! Hopefully this means I am on the mend!

I’m hoping to get in another longer-ish run tomorrow before the holiday festivities with my family kick off. I just have to see how everything is feeling. I would really love to get in one last long run before my race, but we will see I guess. I’m just happy to be running again.

Now to completely change gears….

Since the horrible event at Sandy Hook Elementary, I have been trying to figure out what I could do to help. I knew I could donate money, I knew I could send prayers and thoughts. But I wanted to do more. Then I came across this: Sandy Hook Elementary Virtual Half Marathon and 5k (facebook link). Anyone can sign up to commit to walk/run/swim/bike/dance/etc 3.1 or 13.1 before January 31st. The bibs are a PDF you download to reduce the costs so that the majority of the money will go directly to the Sandy Hook School Support Fund (being organized through United Way). I was thrilled to read tonight that they have surpassed 1,500 registrations. When I read the description, this just spoke to me, so I signed up as soon as I could. I plan to run the half marathon as part of my upcoming race. I’ll be wearing the bib on my back.

Just wanted to share it with my readers in case this is something you would be interested in.

5 Responses to “A Pain Free Run!”

  1. lhyderdarlington December 23, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    congrats and good news. Good luck on the race. Thanks for the tip about the Sandy Hook run. All the best in the New Year!

  2. Tanya December 24, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Thanks for the link to the Sandy Hook run. I organize a free half marathon for all my running friends about once a month at our local trails. I will for sure be organizing one for Sandy Hook in January. Thanks!
    And great job on the pain-free run!! WOO HOO!!!! πŸ™‚

    • Becca December 30, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Awesome!!

  3. Kathy December 28, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Glad your foot is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

