Walt Disney World Marathon (Goofy Challenge Part 2)

22 Jan

When we last left off, we had grabbed dinner at Portobello’s in Downtown Disney the evening after the Half Marathon and headed straight to bed. The bottoms of my feet were tired but I knew that after I put my feet up for the night I would probably feel much better.

My alarm went off at 3am (for the second morning in a row..ugh). I didn’t wake up as easily as I did the morning before but I got myself out of bed ate my cereal + almond milk breakfast and got dressed. I felt nervous from the minute I woke up. We caught the busses a little later this morning, but still had no issue with lines or anything like that. We got dropped off by the buses and made our way to the corrals. Things were much less congested this morning. I guess because there were few runners doing the Marathon.

As our corral was making our way to the start line, we heard the announcer say “and Goofy folks – you’re 1/3rd of the way through!!” This made me feel a lot better. I have no idea why, but it seemed less daunting than thinking that I had 26.2 miles to go.

We crossed the start around 6:15am.

WDWFull01

My husband was feeling sore from the previous day, so his strategy was to briskly walk the whole thing. He can walk pretty quickly thanks to his super long legs. My dad and I planned to do 2/1 run/walk intervals as long as possible, and bank as much time as we could before the sun came up. Then we would run/walk/crawl/do whatever we had to do to get across the finish. A lot of the Goofy runners around us had the same strategy which gave me some comfort.

I felt really good for the first 4 miles. Better than I had during the Half the previous day. Running down Main Street gave me a surge and I was feeling good. I was actually surprised at how good I felt.WDWFull02

We were able to run through the castle this time which was great. The previous day it had been too crowded and we had to walk through.
WDWFull03

After Magic Kingdom, we looped through the Richard Petty Driving Experience Race Course around mile 8 which was pretty cool and a nice way to break up the monotony and sunniness of the highways. Around this time I made it my goal to stay in from of the 6:30 pace group as long as possible. I figured if I could make it half way through the race without them passing me, I was in a pretty good place.

Around mile 13 I had to switch up the run/walk intervals to 2 mins walk, 1 min run. My legs were starting to feel it. This is also when the 6:30 pace group caught up to us, and when we were passing through Animal Kingdom.
WDWFull04

We actually stuck with the 6:30 pace group for a good while, because they were doing run/walk intervals as well. I figured I’d hang on as long as I could. The bottoms of my feet were on fire though. They were sore.

The stretch from Animal Kingdom to ESPN Wide World of Sports was rough. I finally had to let the pace group go. The sun was too bright, the temperature was too high and my feet were hurting so much that I had to walk in the grass at some points. It was also a tough point in the course since we were on pretty boring highway.

Eventually, mile 19 came and we were in ESPN Wide World of Sports.
WDWFull05

It was pretty cool to run through the baseball field and through other areas of the complex there, but I was just really focused on keeping one foot in front of the other. It felt like we had a long way to go but I kept reminding myself that we had 30+ miles done.

We left WWoS and Mile 20 came and I was so happy to see the mile marker. Unfortunately more highway awaited us.

My husband really helped me here. He held my hand which really helped me to keep moving. I also didn’t stop for any photos or anything because I knew I had to keep on moving. I was looking forward to seeing the Hollywood Studios sign because I knew that meant we had about a 5k left. I could do anything for 5k. During this stretch I also got a few blisters which then popped. Yikes it stung. But I stuck to the grass when I could and kept on moving.

Finally, we entered Hollywood Studios. The hubby convinced me to stop for one photo – and I’m glad he did.
WDWFull07

From there we made our way through the Boardwalk area and finally into Epcot.

WDWFull08

The last 2 miles were so hard. so so hard. Like the hardest miles of my life. But I knew the finish line was right outside of Epcot. Around mile 25.5 the tears started. I knew I was going to finish this thing and I just couldn’t believe it.

WDWFull09

I remembered how my first 5k in July 2009 had felt like the hardest thing ever. And here I was not only completing a Marathon but also the Goofy challenge. I also may have been the endorphins making me emotional. πŸ˜‰

We turned the corner after the Epcot Ball, heard the Gospel Choir (cue more tears!) and managed to muster up enough energy to run across the finish.

WDWFull10

Official Time: 7:07:23.

WDWFull11

After we crossed the finish, we made a quick stop at the Med tent for ice for my husband and dad, grabbed our food and then got our GOOFY MEDALS! Oh man, that clank clank of the two medals was just amazing.

WDWFull12

We made our way to the busses and sat down. I was still crying on and off. I was just in awe I guess. Lots of emotions.

We did have dinner reservations at Downtown Disney that night for a celebration dinner, but honestly, it was tough to walk to the bathroom, so we cancelled them. My husband picked up veggie burgers and fries from the food court, and wow, food had never tasted so good. I received a barrage of tweets and texts from my friends back home which made me feel so loved.

I AM A MARATHONER.

I COMPLETED THE GOOFY CHALLENGE!

WDWFull13

13 Responses to “Walt Disney World Marathon (Goofy Challenge Part 2)”

  1. Ari @ Ari's Menu January 22, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    So amazing!!! Congratulations!!

    • Becca January 23, 2013 at 9:43 am #

      Thank you!!

  2. mizunogirl January 22, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    SO glad you had a good experience!!! I felt like I was running it with you as you described all the different areas! Congratulations!!!
    I hope I can write as well abuot my upcoming Marathon (May…I take a long time to train up to these things, I guess..)

    • Becca January 23, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      Thank you! The marathon definitely had all the ups and downs to be expected of a first one. And dont feel bad about the training cycle length, I trained for Goofy since July! You gotta do what you gotta do!

  3. specialkkluthe February 1, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I’m just catching up on your races now. GREAT JOB!! I can’t imagine doing both a half and a full in one weekend. But I totally understand about those last few miles being the hardest ones. That’s how it was in my marathon too. Way to keep going and finish though. That’s a huge accomplishment.

    • Becca February 4, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      Good to know thats not unusual!!

  4. Meranda@Fairytalesandfitness January 27, 2016 at 11:01 pm #

    Congrats! My first marathon was also the Wdw marathon and I also did it as part of the Goofy Challenge. (what a crazy thing to do…lol)

    • Becca January 28, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      hahaha it IS crazy, but we are not alone. I know of someone else who did Dopey as her first full. Runners are a crazy bunch.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Goofy Challenge: How I Trained « Diary of a slow runner - January 29, 2013

    […] weekend: After running the Half Marathon, I took an ice bath. On the day of the Marathon, though the bottoms of my feet were super sore, my legs and hips (my hips are where I usually start […]

  2. Checking in on my goals | Diary of a slow runner - July 7, 2013

    […] be too tough to hit it though – I’m already up to 10: Disney Half Marathon, Disney Marathon, 811 Run 8k, April Fool’s Day 5k, Hershey 10k, Beaver Stadium Run 5k, Pittsburgh Half […]

  3. And so it begins… racing in 2014 | Diary of a slow runner - February 21, 2014

    […] will be the perfect venue for my first “real” full marathon. Yes, I completed the Goofy Challenge in 2013 and that was technically my first marathon, but I am looking forward to “only” training […]

  4. Wineglass Marathon Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - October 13, 2014

    […] plans to buy all the things at this expo! Β Who knows when I’ll do another 26.2 and before Goofy I was worried about “jinxing” myself by buying race swag, and I’ve regretted it […]

  5. The “plan” for 2016 | Diary of a slow runner - February 18, 2016

    […] I am much stronger now that I was at Wineglass in 2014 and much MUCH stronger than I was in Disney in 2013.  I also feel like I need a big goal – something to push myself and keep me […]

Leave a Reply

