Recovery

24 Jan

Good morning!

Thanks so much for all the sweet compliments on my race reports. I am so proud of myself (and my hubby and my dad) for completing it. That feeling of accomplishment is something that I think I’ll carry with me for years and years.

After being sidelined over the weekend, I started feeling much better on Monday. I did a quick 20 minute brisk walk on the treadmill Monday morning, but then my body screamed to stop, so I did. It exhausted me. I guess I wasn’t quite over being sick yet. Tuesday I hit up Zumba, yesterday I had kickboxing and today I’m going to a lunch time quick yoga class. Getting back into the cross training feels good. But I haven’t been able to wake up early to run for the life of me. My body is just craving sleep right now, and honestly I don’t really feel like pushing myself through a run yet. I hope this is all normal after running a big race? I’m going to try to get back into running this weekend and next week, but at least I’m sweating some now, even if I’m not running. I also have a massage scheduled for Sunday – I can’t wait!!! 🙂

Mentally, I definitely went through a few days of feeling directionless after the race. I keep thinking about what I was going to do next, and if I could do something this year to “top” the Goofy Challenge. But then I realized I don’t need to “top” it. I don’t even need to run another marathon this year. I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing this year, but I definitely go back and forth. I do have a few Halfs planned, but those don’t feel like “enough” now. Which is weird. Maybe I need to focus on improving my speed? I don’t know.

This is all normal…right? 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Recovery”

  1. Larissa January 24, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    We all know it, but sometimes it helps to hear from someone else: Listen to you body. Don’t push yourself too soon, especially after being sick. Take care of yourself. 🙂

    I’m not a big racer (though I’m doing my first half in June), but I’ve read enough about the post–race blues to think it’s normal. I’ve done training programs to improve (just never had the desire to race), and I know I really appreciate the “directionless” or “schedule–less” times afterwards. I enjoy just running what I feel like running, rather than keeping a program. Personally, I feel like I lose the love of running if I’m always worried about times/splits/miles and never simply run for the joy of it.

    Glad you’re feeling better and congrats on your race!

    • Becca January 25, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks for the kind words. Good luck on your first Half!!!

  2. lhyderdarlington January 24, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    Congrats again Becca … I have never done what you have in the Goofy Challenge but it seems to me to be a little of your body coming down from that high. Just readjusting. Yiou’ll find your focus and be off again in no time. For now allow yourself some time to soak it in !!!

    • Becca January 25, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      Very good advice! I’m soaking it in!

Leave a Reply

