The Goofy Challenge: What I did well, What I didn’t do so well

30 Jan

This will be my last post about the Goofy Challenge, I promise. Since this was the longest distance and most intense training that I think I’ve ever done for a race, I wanted to give it it’s due diligence and appropriately reflect on what I did well and what I could have done better. I hope it doesn’t bore you too much. 🙂

What I did well

Training – there’s a full post about how I trained here. Running a Half Marathon and a Full Marathon back to back is never going to be easy. And I was definitely hurting by the end of the Full. That being said, most of my pain was on the bottom of my feet. My leg muscles felt pretty good. So I’d say that I trained pretty well for this given the fact that I had a tiny set back when I got injured.

Fueling – I stuck to my tried and true method of a Gu every 45 minutes for the Half and ever 45 minutes to an hr for the Full. There were a few times during the Full where the taste of the Gu made me want to throw up, but I choked them down and I really think this helped me keep going. I also took 2 cups of water at every water stop which worked out really well given the high temperatures. When we got back to the hotel I actually had to go to the bathroom, which told me that I was still properly hydrated and didn’t sweat everything out.WDWFull08

Clothing choice – I packed for a ton of weather contingencies, knowing that Florida’s weather can be all over the place. I also ran in my “costume” (without the ears) before the race so that I was sure I would be comfortable. I also Body Glided it up. I had a little bit of chafing on my lower back from my SPIBelt, but that was about it. Also sunscreen was SO key. I am so glad I remembered that and covered my arms, shoulders and cheeks and nose in it.

WDWHalf03

 

ICE BATH – I really think my post-half marathon ice bath was key to my legs feeling fresh the next morning.

Overall race “strategy” – The goal for the half was to take it easy and have fun. The goal for the full was to run as much as possible and bank time in the early miles before the sun came up. We were pretty successful in both of these things. I felt pretty successful using a Galloway run/walk method for both races and really feel that it was the right decision for me.

What I could have improved

Quicker pace at the end of both races – It got so hard to keep running towards the end of both races – especially the full. And the sun certainly didn’t help – it as hot! But in hindsight I sort of wish I had pushed myself a little more.

Taken more pictures – During the full specifically. Disney races area all about the photos! But I felt so much pressure to finish and not get sweeped that I didn’t give myself much flexibility here. I sort of wish I did now. Though not if that meant getting sweeped! We got some good Professional photos but none with characters.

So there we have it. Overall I’m am very proud of myself and feel I was pretty successful with a lot of things. There’s always things to improve upon though, so I guess that’s why running is so great. You can always push yourself more!

6 Responses to “The Goofy Challenge: What I did well, What I didn’t do so well”

  1. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) January 30, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Becca! Just saw that you commented on my blog that you were doing the Hershey 10K too! I didn’t know if you knew but there is a PA Bloggers group and we get together about once a month! You should join! Here is the link for facebook! http://www.facebook.com/#!/PaBloggers?fref=ts
    I can’t wait to follow your blog now!

    • Becca January 30, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

      Awesome!! Thank you for passing on the facebook page, I just joined!

  2. lhyderdarlington January 30, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    Becca – way to go and thanks for all the excellent posts !!!

    • Becca January 31, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

      thanks! Glad I didn’t bore you. 🙂

  3. amanda @ There Are Two Sides February 1, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Congrats on doing so well!

  4. Bobby June 7, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    Very good posts! Thank you for sharing. I’m considering whether to do the Goofy Challenge or just the Marathon. It would be first Marathon either way… Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

