Coconut oil ideas

28 Feb

Goooood morning!

I hope you week is going well. I am counting down til the weekend, not gonna lie. This has been one of those weeks were I just can’t seem to get into the groove and things are taking more of my energy and mental capacity than I would like. Thank god for sweating keeping me sane!

Anyhow, I had something a little different I wanted to talk about this morning… COCONUT OIL. or rather, what-the-heck-do-I-do-with-coconut-oil? ha.

Let me back up.

Coconut oil has been someone of a fad on a lot of healthy living related blogs recently. I pushed it off and pushed it off, mainly because of the high price tag. I also figured I was perfectly happy with Olive Oil in my cooking so why bother switching it up.

Then, I walked into my local Trader Joe’s. I got totally sucked into their coconut display (I am a marketers dream, what can I say). But I told myself no…move on. And somehow I did.

But I continued to think about it… I couldn’t get my mind off of it. Weird? I guess so. But I figured since I kept wondering about it I might as well pick some up. So next time I was in Trader Joe’s I did just that.

coconutoil

 

I want to say this was in the $5 range? Which I’ve heard is a pretty good price for that size jar.

I have read around the internet that coconut oil is not only great to cook and bake with, but also for various health and beauty things. That was where I was really interested. My normal deodorant is a kind that has aluminum in it. I’ve tried all the organic non-aluminum types and they really didn’t work well for me. I also have pretty sensitive pits (ha) and found that a lot of them irritated my skin. So when I came across this website that had a super simple deodorant recipe (just coconut oil, baking soda and corn starch), I decided to try it out. I used that recipe but heated up the coconut oil on the stove at medium so that it would turn into a liquid. Then I mixed in the baking soda and corn starch and put it in a bowl and stuck it in the fridge to re-harden.

The result (sorry I don’t have a picture) is a bar of deodorant-like stuff. It stays solid in my bathroom vanity with no issues (though this could probably vary depending on the temperature in your bathroom) and I just rub it on like normal deodorant. I’ve been using it for a week, and I have to say, I love how it has felt on my skin. I’ve had no itchiness and it smells yummy and coconut-y too. I wore it to my Zumbathon over the weekend and all week running and I don’t think I’ve smelled any more than I normally do. So far so good.

I also have a little container of it in the shower that I’ve been using when I shave as a sort of shaving cream. And oh my gosh are my legs soft!! Especially for it being freezing cold outside, it is a nice change.

I haven’t dug into cooking and baking with it yet, but it’s probably just a matter of time.

Do you use coconut oil? For what? Any recipes to share?

6 Responses to “Coconut oil ideas”

  1. mizunogirl February 28, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    Have never used coconut oil for anything, but I sure would like to have some nice soft legs…Hmmm, maybe for use on the face as well.

  2. Suzanne May 17, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    I’ve never tried coconut oil either. I’d rather just buy a natural deodorant off the shelf that does the trick. Lavilin is my go-to! Have you ever tried it?

    • Becca May 22, 2013 at 8:28 am #

      Never tried Lavilin! I’ll check it out, thanks for the rec!

      • Suzanne May 25, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

        Let me know how it goes!

      • Iris July 19, 2013 at 6:46 am #

        Suzanne is right!!! Lavilin is the BEST. Apparently Whole Foods is starting to carry it now too, so plenty of places to buy it! 🙂

      • Becca July 29, 2013 at 9:44 am #

        I’ve never heard of Lavilin – will have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

