You gotta do what you gotta do

25 Mar

Hello there! I hope your weekend was a good one. 

On Saturday I got in a 9.25 mile run. I had planned to do between 8 and 10, so I was pretty happy with it. I had a 10 mile route planned out (go big or go home, right?) but after 9.25 my shins were aching and I decided to walk the rest. I realized that the last time I have run over 8 miles was during the marathon in January, so it’s no wonder it tired me out! It is amazing how quickly your body adapts to higher or lower mileage! In January 10 miles was a piece of cake. Go figure. Anyhow, I feel good about my half in May. I know I can *do* it, and after my 10k goal race I’ll have a few weeks to fine tune before that race. The goal for that half will be just to finish though. My focus right now is that 10k PR. 🙂

Yesterday the hubby and I started spring cleaning. He claims he has *big* plans for us. ha. I went through my running clothes and pulled out a bunch to donate and also went through all my cotton race t-shirts. I have collected a ton! I picked a few to keep and wear but the rest got all packed up to mail out to be made into a quilt! 

tshirtquiltI’ll get the quilt back in about a month and I’ll be sure to share it when I get it. I’m pretty excited that 16 of my cotton race shirts will become something I can snuggle in. 🙂

This morning I got up at 5am and was dismayed to look outside and see that it had snowed another 2-3 inches over night. Just when it was finally all melted!! It’s been snowing pretty much all day, so another inch or two probably has accumulated since this morning. I’m so ready for spring!!!! Come on Mother Nature! Check your calendar! It’s almost April!

End rant. haha. Anyhow, I felt super tired when I woke up. And my legs still felt a little tired from my long run on Saturday despite my rest day yesterday. But I forced myself out of bed, saying I wouldn’t regret getting on the treadmill. I put on my compression socks to hopefully make my legs feel better. But I was procrastinating and moving slowly. I even took some ENERGYBits hoping they would give me some energy. 

I finally got down to the treadmill, with 6 miles with some speedwork on the plan. I took the first mile easy. REAL easy. Lots of walking. When I hit mile two I was able to keep a speedy pace for maybe a quarter of a mile. My body was just.not.feeling.it. So I threw in the towel and shut off the treadmill. No point in forcing myself through 6 miserable miles right?

Since I had a ton of time before I needed to shower and get ready for work I chilled out for a while, icing my legs and foam rolling while watching some tv.compressionandice

I’ll tackle those six miles tomorrow. You gotta do what you gotta do. 🙂

 

 

3 Responses to “You gotta do what you gotta do”

  1. Melinda March 25, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    I think you handled this morning fabulously! You handled the situation the most appropriate way. Pushing through those times you just know you need to stop is what has to happen sometimes. Other times, it can cause injury. You made a good call.

  2. Jen March 25, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    Smart idea to back off if things don’t feel great, no point in suffering through a bad run and risk an injury 🙂

  3. Larissa March 25, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Yup, good choice. I told my husband last night that my goal was to get through this running season without injury. He promptly said, “Then you’ll have to actually stop when something doesn’t feel right!” I have a tendency to just keep going…. and end up in bad shape. Icing and rolling was the best decision this morning!

Leave a Reply

