April Fools Day 5k Race Recap

1 Apr

On Sunday I ran a local 5k with an April Fools Day theme. This is the second year that I have run it. I went in a goal to maintain 11:30-11:45 pace (thanks to my awesome coach). Secretly I wanted to do 36:00 (11:30 pace) because I’m an overachiever. Once I saw the course though, I realized that it was pretty much uphill for most of the way.

The beginning started off on a slight downhill, followed but a steeper downhill. Since it was a small race (~150ish people), I was able to line up pretty close to the start line and totally got caught up in their fast speeds. During the first 3/4ths of a mail I saw paces with 9s in front of them. Whoops. After that point though it was all up hill. It was a tough course but I just kept pushing and pushing.

To put it in perspective, my 5k PR from a few years ago was made on the same course, going in the reverse direction, and thus practically downhill the entire time.

I crossed the finish line in 36:46, far from the 36:00 I wanted but still at an 11:40 pace which I am more than happy with. ย I realized that this is the fast 5k I’ve run in almost two years! Maybe there is something to all this speedwork stuff, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

That makes in-person race #4 for the year, with a total of 7 races completed towards my goal of 13. sweet!

4 Responses to “April Fools Day 5k Race Recap”

  1. jenereesa April 1, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    Congrats on pushing your pace and enjoying the run!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fitness Recap – April 5 | Diary of a slow runner - April 5, 2013

    […] โ€“ Rest Sunday โ€“ย 1 Mile Warmup +ย April Fools Day 5kย (12:37-way too fast + 36:47) Monday โ€“ 5 mile tempo run on the treadmill (1:02:xx) Tuesday โ€“ 3 […]

  2. Checking in on my goals | Diary of a slow runner - July 7, 2013

    […] it though – I’m already up to 10: Disney Half Marathon, Disney Marathon, 811 Run 8k, April Fool’s Day 5k, Hershey 10k, Beaver Stadium Run 5k, Pittsburgh Half Marathon, Memorial Day Race, Dirty Girl Mud […]

Leave a Reply

