Wanting to go fast… all the time

3 Apr

Good morning! Sorry things have been a little quiet over here. I have been busy trying to get things wrapped up before I leave for a conference for work on Thursday morning. I am so excited about it because I’m going to see a ton of folks that I used to work with, and it’s going to be great to catch up with them. The conference is in Baltimore, so I’m hoping maybe it’ll be a tad bit warmer there than it is here. 🙂 If anyone has good recommendations about places to eat or things to do around the inner harbor let me know!

I’ve been on top of my runs this week. I guess knowing that I have very little room for moving things around due to my trip is helping me stay focused. Monday I did a 5 mile run, with the middle 3 miles @ 34:24. SWEET. Now why couldn’t I do that on my race on Sunday? haha. Yesterday I had an easy run day but I ended up messing with the speed on my treadmill a little bit, mostly to do a little sprinting towards the end – I get bored easily. I did 3 miles in 40 minutes. 

One thing that I’m finding difficult is that as race day gets closer I really have to resist the urge to want to do every run 100% full out. I know that doing that would just screw me come race day, but it’s so easy to think “I should be going faster than this if I want to PR.” I know I need to trust the plan my coach has made for me, but it is hard not to go faster all the time. Anyone else experience this?

Oh one more thing, on Monday I got this is the mail:Image

My medal for the Fit, Fab and Lean in 2013 Virtual 5k! How cute is it?! Word is that they are going to be doing a race with this medal annually, and just change up the colors of the medal. So if you’re interested keep an eye out on their website.

My posting from now through Sunday may be pretty sporadic if it happens at all. I’m in for long days and late nights at this conference so I’ll fit it in when I can. 🙂 

 

6 Responses to “Wanting to go fast… all the time”

  1. Emily N April 3, 2013 at 9:08 am #

    Super cute medal, and I am definitely checking out their site!

  2. Jen April 3, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    It is tough not to go hard on every workout! Your body will thank you for the easy days and it will show on race day 🙂

  3. specialkkluthe April 4, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    Yep, I definitely have had that tendency in the past (to run all out on all runs). I’m better at not doing that when I plan some runs to be a faster or hillier effort. I guess then I feel like there’s a purpose behind my slow runs?

    • Becca April 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

      Good point 🙂

  4. Valerie August 23, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    Thanks so much for the shout out Becca! I just stumbled upon this and wanted you to know I appreciate you! I look forward to following your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

