Friday Fitness Recap – April 12 + 10k Race Prep

12 Apr

This week was the last week of my 10k plan! It’s hard to believe that race day is on Sunday.

Saturday – 4 miles in Baltimore (54:30)
Sunday –  Rest
Monday – 4 miles on the treadmill (55:27)
Tuesday – 3 easy miles on the treadmill (43:34)
Wednesday – Kickboxing! (1 hour)
Thursday – Rest
Friday – 3 easy miles on the treadmill (41:13)

Total miles: 16
Total time: 4.25 hrs

I’m leaving tomorrow mid-day to drive to Hershey with my friend for the 10k on early Sunday. I’m feeling pretty confident and excited. I created a playlist last night just for the race, and ran the first half of it this morning during an easy 3 mile run to see how it felt.

I also printed out my mile splints for a 1:17:00 and 1:15:00 finish. I used this really cool site – Taz Running which actually lets you find your race and then enter your goal time. They then adjust your splits based on the elevation chart! The Hershey 10k was actually not listed when I searched for it, but I emailed them asking them to add it and it was added within an hour! Super impressive!

hershey10kgoalsplitsA 1:17:00 finish would be a 1:30 PR, 1:15:00 would be a 4:30 PR. I’m hoping for at least that 1:17:00 . 🙂 I’m under strict instructions to push the pace if I feel good, so we will see I guess!

I doubt I’ll be checking in before the race, so I hope you have a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Friday Fitness Recap – April 12 + 10k Race Prep”

  1. Jen April 12, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Have a good weekend and a great race, good luck. Can’t wait to see how it goes 🙂

  2. itsaharleyyylife April 12, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    can’t wait to see how much you love the 10k (:

  3. Laura Runs a Latte April 12, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Have a great weekend and a great race!

Leave a Reply

