Hershey 10k 2013 (Race Report)

15 Apr

Happy Marathon Monday! I’m checking in to tell you all about my race yesterday at the Hershey 10k! Spoiler: I PRed!!! And I totally have the new PR glow still today. ๐Ÿ™‚

As you know if you’ve been reading a while. 10ks (used to) scare the crap out of me. I couldn’t figure out how to pace myself the right way so I wasn’t in pain the entire time, and I mentally defeated myself when it came to the distance. I’ve run three before, and this year I decided I was going to focus on the 10k, and not only become more comfortable running that distance, but also PR. I know it sounds silly that I would be scared to run a 10k since I have done a bunch of 5ks, halfs and a marathon, but honestly I just never knew how to run it the right way.

My goal race, the Hershey 10k was yesterday. The race started at 7:30am, but not before I got a photo with the chocolate bar. ๐Ÿ™‚hershey10k-1

I have run the Hershey Half Marathon before so I was comfortable with running a race in that location logistics-wise. But I was nervous because I had a time goal, and I knew the course would be a little hilly.

As I mentioned on Friday, I used TazRunning.com to figure out my mile splints for a 1:15:00 finish and a 1:17:00 finish. My goal was to finish somewhere in there. But really, anything less than 1:19:34 would make me a happy camper.

Okay back to the race.

Someone said “go” and we were off. I was somewhere in the middle of the cluster of runners, and luckily we were chip timed at the start and finish so my official time was the same as my Garmin.

Mile 1: 11:49. A little fast, I was aiming for 12:01-12:21. But there was a good amount of downhill so I focused on going slower on the flat parts to not tire out.
Mile 2: 12:44, overall at 24:33. Still in my goal of 24:07-24:45. But slow for an overall mile time. This is where the hills started though. The course was also not that exciting at this point (just running through a parking lot and on a road). I continued to focus on going faster on the few downhills (while still trying to let gravity do the work), to make up for my slowness on the uphills.
Mile 3: 12:42, overall 37:14. Still on target for 1:17, but the 1:15 wasn’t going to happen unless there was a miracle. I still felt really good physically and mentally though. When I had doubts, I pushed them out of my head quickly. I stayed focused on keeping my legs moving and focused on the next mile split that I needed to hit.
Mile 4: 12:55, overall 50:09.ย Starting to lose a grip on the 1:17 and I was getting tired of the hills that just kept coming. But I stayed positive and continued to focus.
Mile 5: 13:44, overall 1:03:53.ย Yikes. Not the splits I wanted to see for this mile. We were in Hershey Park at this point and again the hills killed my time. But I knew I could still pull out a PR. I just had to keep going.
Mile 6: 13:39, overall 1:17:32.
Last .2: 1:14 (10:55 pace, I hit an 8:02 somewhere in there).

For the last half mile or so I decided to gun it. I WAS going to get that PR dammit. I turned the corner into Hershey Park Stadium, saw the finish and gave it everything I had left.

I finished in 1:18:47! A New PR!ย And miraculously, myย officialย results match my garmin results to the second!

My splits weren’t what I had hoped, so I’m a little bummed about that. But a PR is a PR! I felt so good and strong during the majority of the race. I’m pretty confident that had the course been a little flatter I could have gotten that 1:17.

Even more importantly though, I have so much more confident in my ability to run the 10k distance now! The training plan provided to me by Jen helped me so much! I can’t recommend her enough!

Who knows, maybe I’ll run a 10k again in the near future. ๐Ÿ™‚

hershey10k-2

19 Responses to “Hershey 10k 2013 (Race Report)”

  1. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) April 16, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    congrats on your new PR! (: That is so awesome. I loved this 10K run. It was such a great experience.

    • Becca April 22, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      It was so fun!

  2. Chris April 16, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Woohoo! Congrats on the PR! That course is hilly and yea that running around the parking lot is boring. Great job on PRing even with that!

  3. Jen April 16, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    I am so excited for you! Great job and you will crush the PR even more on a flat course, hills are tough race conditions. Yay for more confidence that will go a long way in running ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. specialkkluthe April 19, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Great join and way to stay positive! You’ll get that 1:17 soon.

    • Becca April 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Tanya Brown April 21, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    YAY!!! Congrats on your PR!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Like you, I don’t care for the shorter distances. 5K’s and 10K’s scare me because I’m also unable to pace myself correctly. When doing halfs, marathons, and even ultras I know I can have some slower miles and still do well, but not with the short stuff- you gotta go all-out.
    You did FANTASTIC!!! You’ll get that 1:15 when you don’t have all those hills to deal with.
    WOO HOO!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Becca April 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

      So true, the shorter distances do require you to go all out!

  6. Emily May 7, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Congrats on the PR!! I think I definitely need to do the Hershey 10K next year! I’m obsessed with three things, two of them being running and chocolate. The third is coffee so thank god coffee shops are more then plentiful in this great country of ours!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fitness Recap – April 19 | Diary of a slow runner - April 19, 2013

    […] โ€“ RestSunday โ€“ย  Hershey 10k. PR!!!Monday โ€“ RestTuesday โ€“ 3 easy miles on the treadmill (39:49)Wednesday โ€“ Kickboxing! (1 […]

  2. Friday Fitness Recap – April 26 | Diary of a slow runner - April 26, 2013

    […] excited but a little nervous since I didn’t really train for it because I was focused on the Hershey 10k. Hopefully it’ll go okay […]

  3. Pittsburgh Half Marathon (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - May 9, 2013

    […] myself. But honestly, I didn’t do any real training for it. I only had 2 weeks between the Hershey 10k and this race, so the most I managed to squeeze in was a 7 mile run followed by a 5k. I knew I was […]

  4. Checking in on my goals | Diary of a slow runner - July 7, 2013

    […] already up to 10: Disney Half Marathon, Disney Marathon, 811 Run 8k, April Fool’s Day 5k, Hershey 10k, Beaver Stadium Run 5k, Pittsburgh Half Marathon, Memorial Day Race, Dirty Girl Mud Run and Color […]

  5. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Week 9) & Hershey 10k Goals | Diary of a slow runner - April 11, 2014

    […] I honestly have no real goals (ha, tricked you with the title, huh). Last year I was aiming to PR, and I did. This year I just want to enjoy it and have fun. If I end up surprising myself with a PR I’d […]

  6. Hershey 10k (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - April 28, 2014

    […] On April 13th I ran the Hershey 10k for the second time! (First time recap is here.) […]

  7. Hershey 10k Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - May 6, 2015

    […] my first race of 2015 – the Hershey 10k in Hershey, PA! ย I have run this race twice before, PRing in 2013, and then just taking it easy in 2014. ย I love this race because it is a nice size – not to […]

  8. Hershey 10k 2016 (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - April 7, 2016

    […] Saturday April 2nd I ran the Hershey 10k. This was my fourth year running it (I ran inย 2013, 2014 and 2015). ย Despite the hilly course I have managed to PR 2 out of the three times I have […]

  9. Hershey 10k and Race #100 | Diary of a slow runner - April 14, 2017

    […] the Hershey 10kย as my 100th lifetime race! This was my 5th year running the 10k (2016, 2015, 2014, 2013). I go back year after year because it is semi-local, well priced, well organized and you get some […]

Leave a Reply

