Friday Fitness Recap – April 19

19 Apr

Wow. What a week. I think this Onion article summed it up perfectly (warning there’s some swearing, using Jesus’ name in vain and general sarcasm so if that’s not your thing I’d pass on reading it). 

I don’t know about you, but I have just felt like I’ve been in a daze and everything going on in the nation has sort of been weighing on me. I hope they catch the second suspect from the Boston bombings soon so that we can all start to have some closure and heal. 

All that being said, I felt weird posting yesterday after the Waco explosion, and today I still feel a little weird. But I know that for myself I have to start getting back to regular habits so here I am. That doesn’t mean any of the events this week will be forgotten though. 

Exercise became a needed outlet for me this week. It gave me the opportunity to clear my mind and de-stress a little bit. Here’s how it went:

Saturday – Rest
Sunday –  Hershey 10k. PR!!!
Monday – Rest
Tuesday – 3 easy miles on the treadmill (39:49)
Wednesday – Kickboxing! (1 hour)
Thursday – 3 easy miles outside! (47:52)
Friday – Rest

Total miles: 12.2
Total time: 3.75 hrs

Kickboxing on wednesday kicked my butt. They made us do these partner squats:partnersquats(source)

THREE MINUTES OF THEM! Oh my gosh, my thighs are still sore from them. My run yesterday was slow, slow, slow just to get some blood flowing through my legs again.

This weekend I’m planning to get in a long run before I “taper” before my next Half Marathon which is two weeks from Sunday. I’m also probably going to run a 5k Sunday with a bunch of friends. 

Have a good weekend. And if you’re in Boston, stay safe.

3 Responses to “Friday Fitness Recap – April 19”

  1. Natalie April 19, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Are you planning on running the Special Olympics 5K? I will be there and excited to finish on the 50 yard line!

    • Becca April 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

      Ah! I totally just saw this! Sorry. Yea I did it! I just posted the race recap. Do you have a blog? If so I’d love to follow you!

      • Natalie April 22, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

        No blog. Great recap and love the pictures! It was so crowded but a great group of people., It was my first time doing this race and it will become a tradition. Hopefully we will see each other on the running paths. We run a similar pace!

Leave a Reply

