7 Mile Run + Beaver Stadium Run 5k (Race Recap)

22 Apr

Happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend.

The hubby and I are embarking on major spring cleaning, including going through everything in our basement and purging and organizing. So needless to say, my weekend was filled with a lot of cleaning and organizing, as well as a good bit of running, to be expected. ๐Ÿ™‚

I totally slacked on Saturday with getting out the door to do my scheduled 10 miler. I just wasn’t feeling it. So instead I decided to do 7 miles before my planned 5k race on Sunday.

On Sunday I woke up around 7 so that I was to the race location by 8. I was able to check in and get my packet, drop it off in my car, and then I went off to do 7 miles. I had a rough route in mind but I sort of winged it. I took it super duper slow. LOTS of walk breaks. I didn’t want to be a complete failure for the 5k later in the day. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did the 7 miles in 1:45. Like I said, super duper slow and easy. My legs felt pretty good when I was done. Iย purposelyย chugged a lot of water and took a Gu (something I normally wouldn’t do for a 7 mile run) so that I was hydrated and getting some “food”.

I got back from my run around 9:45, and took some time to change my clothes (so glad I thought to bring an extra shirt to change into!), eat some Gu chomps, chug some more water, go to the bathroom, etc. It was a little chilly outside so I spent a good 10 minutes in my car just trying to get my body heat back to normal again.

The race didn’t start until 11, but I was glad to have a lot of time to relax, change, stretch and mill around with some friends before it started. The race was the Beaver Stadium Run, in State College, PA. I have run this race for four years now (here is my 2011 recap) and I am so impressed with how it has literally doubled in size every year. This year there was ~3500ish runners! That’s more than at the Hershey 10k! Super impressive. The race benefits the Special Olympics of Pennsylvania so it is a great cause.

beaverstadiumrun2013_1

 

I was decked out in pink. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had decided early on that this race was just for fun. And give the crowds at the beginning and all the weaving I needed to do, in addition to the fact that there was only a chip at the end, I am so glad I did. My official time was 39:17, but according to my Garmin (which I started when I crossed the start), my time was 38:14. Not my best by any stretch but I had a good time and felt strong given that it was miles 8, 9 and 10 for me.

At the end of the race you get to run through the tunnel and onto the 50 yard line of Beaver Stadium’s field. It is a rush, especially if you’re a Nittany Lion football fan. ๐Ÿ™‚

Franco Harris has been a huge supporter of the race since the beginning (the first year I even met him and got a photo with him – I’ll have to share that sometime!). I give him a big ol’ high five as I ran to the finish line.

beaverstadiumrun2013_2

 

And what’s this?! A finish line photo where I look like I’m having fun?! Awesome! haha. It pays to have a friend who is one of the photographersย for the event. ๐Ÿ˜‰

beaverstadiumrun2013_3

 

After the race I met up with my friends, and our friend who was a photographer for the event. We milked having access to stand on Beaver Stadium’s turf for as long as we could and took a bazillion photos. I just wanted to share this one.beaverstadiumrun2013_5She was taking individual photos of us, and the way we were standing, I joked that I felt like a cheerleader, so I put my arm up to cheer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Running the Beaver Stadium Run is a great opportunity. It’s well-organized (though I think they’re going to have to be careful if the race size continues to grow like it has the past four years), a great course and finish line, and for a really good cause.

 

4 Responses to “7 Mile Run + Beaver Stadium Run 5k (Race Recap)”

  1. Amanda @ There Are 2 Sides April 23, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Looks like you had fun!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fitness Recap – April 26 | Diary of a slow runner - April 26, 2013

    […] โ€“ RestSunday โ€“ย  7 Mile Run + Beaver Stadium Run 5k (2:23:xx total)Monday โ€“ 3 easy miles on the treadmill (38:19)Tuesday โ€“ Unplanned RestWednesday […]

  2. Pittsburgh Half Marathon (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - May 9, 2013

    […] I only had 2 weeks between the Hershey 10k and this race, so the most I managed to squeeze in was a 7 mile run followed by a 5k. I knew I was going to be hurting during and after the race, but I was confident I’d […]

  3. Checking in on my goals | Diary of a slow runner - July 7, 2013

    […] to 10: Disney Half Marathon, Disney Marathon, 811 Run 8k, April Fool’s Day 5k, Hershey 10k, Beaver Stadium Run 5k, Pittsburgh Half Marathon, Memorial Day Race, Dirty Girl Mud Run and Color Me Rad 5k. Whew. […]

Leave a Reply

