A look at my phone

24 Apr

A while ago I saw someone (I forget who) post how they organize their phone and what apps they enjoy using. I found it really helpful and I loved it, because hey, I’m nosy  thus why I read blogs. 🙂 Anyhow, I thought you may enjoy something similar and now that Android allows screenshots super easily I was able to get some screen shots to share with you.

For context, I have a Motorola Droid Razr M 4G running Android 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean), with service through Verizon Wireless. I have no clue if all of these apps are available for iPhone, but I assume the majority are (with the exception of maybe Google Now) since people tend to build apps for iOS before Android.

Anyhow, this is my home screen.

phone1

Apps and widgets on this screen:

  • Google Search Bar that opens Google Now (which is freaking awesome)
  • AccuWeather app widget – I like this widget better than the built-in weather widget because it shows hourly weather and sunrise/sunset (which I need to plan out my morning runs) when you click on it.
  • Battery monitor widget
  • I have my most important apps on the screen: Facebook, Feedly (my google reader replacement), Plume (an amazing twitter app) and my calendar.
  • I also have folders that group some of my more commonly used apps together; Lists/Notes (I’ll dive deeper into this one in a second), Fitness (I’ll share the details of this one too), Photo (Camera, Gallery, Instagram, Photo Grid app), Social (email app, Google Talk, Couple, Pinterest, my work email, LinkedIn and WordPress)
  • At the bottom are apps that appear on every screen – Phone, Gmail, the app drawer, Chrome and Text.

I thought I’d dive deeper into my Fitness folder in case any of these apps seem helpful to you.

phone2

  • MapMyRun – for logging my runs via GPS or manually if I run on the treadmill
  • Google Play Music – I love this app because I’m able to store all of my music in Google’s cloud and then play it on my phone, computer or anywhere that the app is installed.
  • A shortcut to the website with my local yoga studio’s schedule.
  • StopWatch
  • MyFitnessPal – this is where I track calories, when I do it. 🙂
  • A shortcut to Runner’s World’s What to Wear tool. I use this all the time to figure out what clothes I should pull out for my runs.
  • Zombie’s, Run! 2. I used the original Zombies, Run until I ran all the “missions.” I just got updated to version 2 and am psyched to try it out. I’m planning to do a post on the Zombies, Run! games because I think they’re awesome, so look for that at some point.
  • I also don’t currently have it installed, but I keep meaning to reinstall Water Your Body. It’s a tracker that helps you keep track of your daily water intake to make sure you get enough.

 

I’ve said many times that I am an avid list maker. Grocery lists, to-do lists, race lists, etc. It seems only natural that I’d have a folder on my phone dedicated to my list making. 🙂

phone3

In my Lists/Notes folder I have the following apps:

  • Astrid Tasks – This is my to-do list app. I LOVE it. It allows you to manage multiple lists, set due dates, repeating tasks, etc. My husband and I both have accounts so that we can share and assign tasks to each other. It also has a Google Chrome extension for the computer.
  • Evernote – This is where I keep random notes. For example, I have my race schedule in here, songs I want to download, a few random recipes, a blog entry topics list, etc. It’s where I put all those random things I don’t want to forget. You can also access it from your computer.
  • Ziplist – Ziplist is where I store everything food related. All of our recipes that we make commonly for meals are in the app. It allows you to easily create a grocery list based on the meals you want to have that week, and has a lot of cool features for creating grocery lists quick and easily. Since I’m an avid meal planner, this app is perfect for me. My husband and I share an account so that he can go in and add things to the grocery list as he thinks of them. You can also access if from your computer.
  • SpringPad – This is my husband and my combined notebook. We like it better than Evernote for a shared notebook because it allows you to group your notes together easily. For example, we have a group called “Home improvement projects” that has notes with links to various things we want to do to our house. It works really well for us.
  • Delicious – I often find random websites that I want to save somewhere, but find the browser bookmarks to be hard for me to keep organized. This is where Delicious helps me out. Delicious lets you tag bookmarks and save them. There is an app, Google Chrome widget and a full on website to access from the computer.

I’m realizing that I could write an entire blog entry on my methods for organization of random information, or on meal planning. haha. Let me know if that would be something of interest to you!

Alright, finally on to my second screen.

phone4

  • I have a calendar widget in the upper left corner. The green entries my planned workouts, appointments appear in purple. The color coding really helps me.
  • Astrid has a widget so that you can see your tasks easily. (I’ve blacked out a few more personal ones).
  • Clock – so I can access my alarm settings easily.
  • Sudoku, because, why not? 🙂
  • My “people” (contacts)
  • Folders for Utilities (App Store, Calculator, Tip Calculator, Google Drive, Dropbox, File Manager, Wikipedia, Google Maps, QR Code Scanner) and Entertainment (Goodreads, iMDb, Shazam, Kindle).

The third screen is all about the widgets.

phone5

  • Google Play Music widget so that I can easily access it when working out.
  • A settings widget that allows me to toggle wi-fi, bluetooth, location services, syncing on and off and change the brightness level.
  • Verizon data usage app.

So there you have it! A look inside my phone. Let me know if you have any questions about a specific app or anything and I’ll do my best to help!

One Response to “A look at my phone”

  1. specialkkluthe April 26, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    Wow, you use your phone for so much more than I do! I also have an android and have been very disappointed with the standard weather app so I’ll be checking out the one you use. I like the map my run app too and I’m bookmarking this post in case I want to start tapping my phone’s potential more – and because I still haven’t switched from reader. I’ll check out feedly too. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

