Pittsburgh Half Marathon (Race Recap)

9 May

On Sunday I ran the Pittsburgh Half Marathon. This is my second time running this race.

I had pretty realistic expectations for this race. Secretly I would have loved to PR (I mean, who wouldn’t?) and with the weather reports and the course being relatively flat (except for the bridges) I thought it was possible to surprise myself. But honestly, I didn’t do any real training for it. I only had 2 weeks between the Hershey 10k and this race, so the most I managed to squeeze in was a 7 mile run followed by a 5k. I knew I was going to be hurting during and after the race, but I was confident I’d finish.

We got into Pittsburgh on Saturday and after checking into the hotel walked around a bit to find the finish line and head to the expo.2013PittsburghHalf1I think this is the first time I’ve ever been able to actually walk up to the finish line before a race. It was really cool. Thanks to the kind volunteer who took this photo of my dad and I. I refused to actually step on the finish line or timing mat though. I’m superstitious, what can I say. 🙂

We walked to the convention center where the expo was being held. I started getting really excited when we were there, I finally was feeling like I was going to be running a half marathon the next day! We also met up with some friends from North Carolina who happened to be in town for the race. It was completely unplanned but we all happened to be in the same place at the same time and met up. After the expo we grabbed dinner (I got my traditional pasta and Cesar salad) and my dad and I headed to bed for the next day.

Unfortunately there was a bachelorette party going on in the room next to us, and those girls were LOUD. I understand a little pre-gaming before hitting the bars but they were yelling, screaming, chanting, laughing, and it STARTED around 10pm. I hated to be a downer but I had to call hotel security on them. I could not sleep and I managed to get a headache – something that never happens to me. They were just so loud. I was glad when they left around midnight. Of course they came back around 2am and woke me up for about 30 minutes but I was able to fall back to sleep pretty easily. So all that being said, not the best night-before-race sleeping conditions.

When the alarm went off I was able to get out of bed pretty easily. I guess it was the adrenaline. After eating my breakfast (cereal + rice milk), I got dressed and my dad and I headed to the start.

Following what happened in Boston we had gotten a few emails from the Pittsburgh Marathon race director that security was going to be heightened. No backpacks were allowed in corrals, corral assignments were going to be strictly enforced, and there were specific runner-only areas (including the start corrals) that you had to show your bib to get into. I expected there to be a little bit of a back up as everyone showed their bib to get where they needed to go. But I have to hand it to the Pittsburgh Marathon team, they handled it all so well. We didn’t have an issue at all. The volunteers were so  knowledgeable. I was so impressed. Considering they had only decided to up the security a few weeks prior, they pulled it together and were completely organized on race day.

Around 7 they started the pre-race stuff with a moment of silence for Boston, followed by the national anthem. It was really powerful. There were 30,000 runners, but you could have heard a pin drop. From there they pumped us up with some music, Ryan Clark (a Steelers) blew the start whistle, and corral by corral we moved up to the start line. We were in corral E so we didn’t cross the start until around 7:30.

I immediately started off too fast, this seems to be a common problem lately. I said bye to my dad (he was feeling great and wanted to go faster). I stopped at the first aid station about a mile in and smeared vasoline between my legs – I had stupidly forgotten to body glide that morning.

In the second mile I took my first walk break. When I ran I was still too fast though, I kept thinking things like “stop going so fast!!!” but my legs just wouldn’t listen.  Unfortunately, that meant the walk breaks became more and more frequent. Around mile 4 I realized that this probably wasn’t a PR day, and made the deliberate decision to enjoy the course and the experience.

The Pittsburgh Half Marathon course is GORGEOUS. First of all, the weather was perfect. I wore a tank top and running skirt and was comfortable, if not a little cold most of the way. I’d much rather be cold than warm though. The course crosses four bridges (I think?), goes through various neighborhoods and under the incline. The on course entertainment is great – there are many organized groups, and  many locals come out to party along the course. My favorite group was an ROTC group that had their hands out for high fives going up on of the hills. Definite motivation to run the whole thing. 🙂

In the end, I completed the race in 3:17:10. Far from a PR, but faster than the Disney Half or the first half of the Disney Marathon in January. Considering the whole not training thing though, I will take it.2013PittsburghHalf3

I really enjoyed my time on the course and found it to be very cathartic as I ran with people with Boston bibs on their back, ran by signs about how tough runners are, and took in my surroundings. When it comes down to it, my finishing time really doesn’t matter because I had a great time out there.

2013PittsburghHalf2

But that PR…I’m coming for it. 🙂

 

 

25 Responses to “Pittsburgh Half Marathon (Race Recap)”

  1. jenereesa May 9, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    So awesome! I love that picture of you and your dad at the finish line. I’ve heard such great things about the Pittsburgh half/full – I definitely need to make it out there one day. 🙂 I was on the other side of the state at Broad Street on Sunday.

    • Becca May 10, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      You totally need to put Pittsburgh on your list. 🙂 I have Broad Street on my bucket list, haha, but I have missed it the past two years because it has conflicted. Maybe next year the dates will align perfectly.

      • jenereesa May 10, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

        Here’s hoping that next year we can both make it to Broad Street AND Pittsburgh! I want to run allllll the race. I think I need a clone.

      • Becca May 22, 2013 at 8:28 am #

        agreed!

  2. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) May 9, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    this race looks awesome. I def understand just enjoying the location and the weather. it was a beautiful day. great job!

    • Becca May 10, 2013 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks Danielle!

  3. Eat Pray Run, DC May 9, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    Sounds like a really fun race!

    • Becca May 10, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      It is great, I highly recommend it!

  4. HeatherD May 9, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Just found your blog from the Running Bloggers group and was exploring. Loved your review of Bird in Hand Half. That one is on my bucket list. I want to do Pittsburgh Marathon next year. I’ll be following your race reports as I’m originally from Western PA and my family still lives there so I like to come back to PA and race from time to time. Great job on the half!

    • Becca May 10, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      I definitely recommend Bird in Hand! It is such a unique experience, unlike any other race I have done.

  5. priscilla May 10, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    I worked the Flipbelt booth at the Expo and I felt so inspired after talking with so many runners as their nerves and excitement were heightened. I am starting training on Monday for my first 10k and then I plan on building myself up for a half marathon. I WILL do the Pittsburgh Half next year! You did a great job, thanks for the post, another great inspiring story!!

    • Becca May 10, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      awesome! Good luck on your 10k and training for Pittsburgh next year! I’m hoping to go back next year too.

  6. Lane May 28, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    Hi Becca – thanks for posting your personal race experience in Pittsburgh this year! I grew up in Cleveland, but never did any races there (thought it would be too cold 🙂 Glad to hear the weather was nice. I added a link on one of our blog posts to your race recap posting at http://www.race-kred.com. It should be up tomorrow. Good luck with your future races!

    • Becca May 29, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      Thanks for sharing my recap Lane! I hope it will encourage some readers to try out Pittsburgh. It is a great race!

  7. Amy April 10, 2014 at 10:30 am #

    I am running this years Pittsburgh Half! Thanks for your recap, also encouraging to read a “slow runners” blog. I am not “fast” by any means and sometimes get a little discouraged reading some of the blogs out there. Good Luck this year!

    • Becca April 17, 2014 at 4:19 pm #

      I hear you – I struggle with the same thing with some blogs so I totally understand.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Race-Kred Pittsburgh Marathon Race Recaps | Race-Kred - May 28, 2013

    […] Becca at https://beccarun.wordpress.com has run the Pittsburgh Half Marathon twice, most recently in 2013 (she also wrote about her 2012 experience, so you can compare!).  Apparently the weather was very nice in 2013, so another reason to consider Pittsburgh for your next big run in 2014  Read about her experience here:  https://beccarun.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/pittsburgh-half-marathon-race-recap/ […]

  2. Quick Memorial Day Weekend Recap and Randomness | Diary of a slow runner - May 29, 2013

    […] I almost forgot. My Pittsburgh Half Marathon recap was featured on Race Kred today! So if you’re new here, welcome, I hope you enjoy my […]

  3. Checking in on my goals | Diary of a slow runner - July 7, 2013

    […] Disney Marathon, 811 Run 8k, April Fool’s Day 5k, Hershey 10k, Beaver Stadium Run 5k, Pittsburgh Half Marathon, Memorial Day Race, Dirty Girl Mud Run and Color Me Rad 5k. Whew. I’ve got 5 races already […]

  4. And so it begins… racing in 2014 | Diary of a slow runner - February 21, 2014

    […] half of 2014 – in Pittsburgh at the beginning of May. I have done this race in both 2012 and 2013, and I love it so much that I will be returning for my third year! After Pittsburgh I have the […]

  5. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Weeks 1 & 2) | Diary of a slow runner - February 22, 2014

    […] Half Marathon which is on May 4th this year. I have done this race twice already (2012 and 2013) and am really looking forward to running it again. It is well organized, has a great course and […]

  6. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - June 8, 2014

    […] was the third year I have run the Pittsburgh Half Marathon (2012 Recap, 2013 Recap) and it didn’t […]

  7. 2015 Race Plans (Tuesdays on the Run) | Diary of a slow runner - January 13, 2015

    […] up when registration first opens! This will be my fourth year running it. 🙂 Race recaps: 2012, 2013, […]

  8. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - June 9, 2015

    […] opens in the middle of winter each year. It is that great of a race! (Here are recaps of 2012, 2013 & […]

  9. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - May 18, 2016

    […] Half Marathon. This was my fifth time running this wonderful race (previous recaps: 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012) and I go back every year because it never disappoints! This year felt tough mentally but my […]

Leave a Reply

