It’s tough not to run

16 May

Hey there. Work has been a little crazy so at the end of the day I’ve been focusing on eating healthy dinners and putting my feet up. 

I’ve also been working on my cross training. But I’m having a little problem.

I’m finding it hard not run. and it’s more than a I-love-to-run problem. It’s more of a I MUST RUN ALL THE MILES POSSIBLE EVERY WEEK problem.

When I set a goal, I work towards it, and I achieve it. If it looks like I can’t achieve my A goal, I modify the goal to something I can achieve and achieve it. Failure is not an option in my mind.

This mindset/personality trait is such a double edged sword. I am very committed to my goals, yes. But when I try to take a break from something (like, running…) I find it hard to not still give my 100%, even when I know it is okay.

Most likely, by the time this week is done, I will have taken 2 spinning classes, ran twice and done 4 sessions of EA Active. This is more than okay. I know that, logically. I’m taking a little break from running between training cycles. Mentally, this will be good.

But part of me also hates to see my weekly mileage fall, and hates to see myself hitting the pavement less than four times. 

Which is I guess exactly why I NEED this. To prove to myself that it’s okay not to go balls-to-the-wall in running all the time. 

But man, is it hard.

2 Responses to “It’s tough not to run”

  1. Carrie H May 16, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    Glad I’m not the only one out there like this!

    • Becca May 22, 2013 at 8:28 am #

      you’re not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

