Four Years

23 May

Four years ago, on May 11, 2009 I completed the first run that I ever logged. It was 2.1 miles that I covered in 30 minutes thanks to Couch to 5k.

I remember going for a run with my boyfriend (now husband) and being out of breath just running around a block. It felt SO hard. Then I started Couch to 5k. Those runs were hard too. I never though I’d be able to run 5 minutes. or 10 minutes. or 20 minutes. or 30.

I felt so great when I finished that Couch to 5k. My dad even convinced me to run my first 5k. At the end of June 2009 I did it. It was hot, sunny, and hilly. It was so mentally difficult for me, but when I crossed the finish I felt so proud. But really, it was the hardest thing I had ever done.

first5k

After my first 5k

Though my first 5k was SUPER difficult, I signed up for a second one, then a third, and so on.

pittsburgh5k

My second 5k

Four years later and I have logged 2,180 miles, in 492 hours (holy cow that’s a lot of time!), in 627 workouts. And I slowly got addicted to races. Β 22 5ks, 4 10ks, 9 half marathons and 1 marathon later, I can’t believe it has been four years.

Most recent Half Marathon on May 5.

Most recent Half Marathon on May 5

Though running has never come easy for me, it is worth it because of the sense of accomplishment I feel when I complete each run (or race) and for the head-clearing properties that it tends to have.

Here’s to many more years in my running shoes!

2 Responses to “Four Years”

  1. Diana May 23, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Happy Anniversary! =)

  2. Jen May 23, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Way to go! Happy running anniversary πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

