A glorious shower

3 Jun

Happy Monday! Hope your week is off to a good start. Mine has been pretty busy thus far. I’m presenting at a conference for work on Thursday morning so most of the day has been spent busily prepping with my co-presenter.

Anyhow, I had an… interesting… run yesterday. I had planned to do 9-10 and ended up doing 8.2. I’m normally one to like ending on the .0s but it just sort of happened.

When I left the house at 8 it was looking a little stormy and felt like 90% humidity, and I told my husband that I would probably be 5 miles away from home (I was planning to do a big loop) when it started raining. Sure enough, when I was 4.5 miles from home, it started to drizzle. It wasn’t raining too bad but the humidity went way up as it rained longer and longer. I was not only super sweaty but wet from the rain too. So I decided to cut my loop a little short so that I could get back closer to home in case the skies REALLY opened up and started pouring or thunderstorming.

So for the next 2 miles or so I trudged along, took a gu, etc. At one point I was running down the road and saw my dad running on the other side of the street. It was so random! I waved, he crossed the road, and we continued on my route for a little bit longer, looping back to my neighborhood. When I hit 8 miles, I drank the last of my 16 oz water bottle for the second time (seriously, the humidity made me THIRSTY). My dad turned off, and since I was literally at the end of my street I decided to just run home rather than putting myself through more damp, sweaty running.

When I got home and looked in the mirror, I looked like such a sweaty, stinky, wet mess. haha. A shower has never felt so good!Β 

Leave a Reply

