My next goal

11 Jun

I’m nearing the end of my non-training time. It’s been a fun few weeks, and it’s been nice to be more flexible with my schedule and try out spinning, but I’m ready to get back into the running thing and start working towards my next goal: a Half Marathon PR.

I’ve trained for a Half Marathon PR… never. It may sound a little crazy but these first eight halves have been all about survival and building up my comfort level with the distance. Now that I know I can conquer it, I want to conquer it faster. My half marathon times have ranged from 2:56:26, two years ago in Cleveland to 3:31:39, last year in Cleveland. (Yes the same race holds both my current PR and PB.) The 2:56:xx happened when I wasn’t really trying. The weather was nice, the course was flat, and I was just feeling good. The 3:31:xx happened in the exact opposite conditions, as I’m sure you can imagine.

My goal? I want to get into the 2:40s. I’d be happy with 2:49:59, but of course even happier the closer to 2:40 I can get.

I’ve already contacted Jen and she’s working up a plan for me to hit this goal.  I’m looking forward to working with her again! I was successful in PRing in my most uncomfortable distance, I’m looking forward to challenging myself in a distance that I enjoy.

Loosely, I’ll be running 4 days a week, continuing Spinning once a week (I’ve been bitten by the Spinning bug, what can I say), and keeping up with my core and arm work a few times a week. I’ll also start kickboxing again when it starts up in the fall.

My target race is Rock n Roll Philly on September 15th. I picked this race because 1. it is flat, 2. I’m familiar with the course and 3. it was my first half marathon. I want redemption. 🙂

I start training next Monday. Bring. It. On. 13.1.

7 Responses to “My next goal”

  1. hayleylyons June 11, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    YOU’VE GOT THIS. Happy training. 🙂 -H (iamlyons.com)

  2. Jen June 11, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    I’m excited to get started too 🙂 Can’t wait for you to bust this goal and set a new PR!

  3. Eat Pray Run, DC June 11, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    That’s a great goal — I’m sure you will rock it!!

  4. Mel June 11, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    Good luck! I will be following along. I am in a similar boat, but I’ve only done two halfs. The first one I finished in 2:49 and the second was the last leg of a 70.3. It was well over 3 hours and I was basically crying the first two miles after a hellish bike ride.

    I’m signed up for the Rock and Roll Denver half, hoping to beat my first time. I’d be over the moon to see an 11 in front of my pace instead of a 12, but we shall see.

  5. mizunogirl June 11, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Really great to see your enthusiasm. I’m working on Marathon redemption myself…

  6. Molto Vivace June 12, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    You will do great – what a cool reason to do this race, that it was your first half. Go for it!

  7. The Edmonton Tourist June 12, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Here in Canada there is a runner/owner/author john Stanton, who wrote a book called Running. In that book there are schedules for training various races at specific time goals of your choice.His programs are know for having people PR. You can download it off of amazon. Good luck with your goal! It’s totally doable!!!

Leave a Reply

