Waffles!

24 Jun

Hey, there, happy Monday!

I hope your weekend was a good one!

On Saturday I did a nice little tempo run. Actually, I lie. It wasn’t very “nice” thanks to the fact that I was out at a loooong happy hour the night before to celebrate my birthday. Oops. I got it done tho, and at the paces prescribed.

On Sunday I met up with three of my friends and we did our 10 Miles to Waffles walk. This all started last November when I was training for Goofy. I had a 10 mile walk planned one weekend and was lamenting about how I would be so bored to one of my friends. She volunteered to join me! And soon enough, two others joined in as well. We planned the route to start and end at a local breakfast joint and thus came up with the name 10 miles to waffles. We decided to do it again this weekend (for fun) and though we changed up our route to keep things interesting, we drove to get breakfast after we finished. Pancakes have never tasted so good. πŸ™‚ It took us 3 hrs and 20 mins to walk the 10 miles, taking our time. It was warm and sunny out so we were a sweaty mess by the time we were done. Β I’m not sure what crazies I am friends with that would actually think walking 10 miles on a Sunday morning would be fun, but hey, I’ll go along with the craziness. πŸ™‚

This morning I reluctantly got out of bed to hit the treadmill for some speedwork. I’m using this Stopwatch app to easily keep track of my splits for speedwork and the extra benefit is I can show them to you!

0624speedworkI ran the two 1/2 mile intervals in 5:49 (11:38 pace) and 5:46 (11:32 pace). So yay for that! I was glad when it was over though, not gonna lie. My legs were feeling tiiiired. But now that it’s later in the day my legs are feeling good. I guess it helped to run this morning!

 

One Response to “Waffles!”

  1. Amanda @ There Are 2 Sides June 25, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    I love the idea of 10-Waffles! I have trouble running with anyone else b/c I run/walk at my own pace, but walking with friends would be fun!

Leave a Reply

