Color Me Rad 5k (Race Recap)

2 Jul

On Sunday June 16th I ran (and walked) the Color Me Rad 5k in Philadelphia, PA. This was race number THIRTEEN for me, thus completing my 13 in 2013 goal. woo hoo!

I did this race with two friends of mine (we made a whole Philly weekend of it) and we had a great time just enjoying it. We took walk breaks, got dirty in color and just had fun.

Since I ran The Color Run last year I was excited to try out a different series!

We arrived and parked about 90 minutes before our schedule wave, as was recommended. We had already picked up our bibs/shirts/sunglasses (which was pretty flawless) a few days prior on our drive into the city. Parking was free (awesome!) and we had a little bit of a walk from the cars to the course. But it was fun to be walking with others decked out in white.

2013colormerad1After snapping a picture we went towards the large stage where they were already throwing some color around, doing some zumba, and just pumping the crowd up. It was really fun.

When it got close to 8 we walked over towards the start line. We were able to join in with that wave with no issue. Since we were there and ready, we figured we might as well!

2013colormerad2

We did have to wait about 10 minutes after the start of the first group to go. I’m glad they let people go in groups, it really helped to spread everything out. Probably around 8:10 we crossed the start.

The longest stretch without an color stations seemed to be between the start line and the first one. Or maybe we were just excited and it felt like a long time. 🙂

colormerad3

We ran through it, getting covered in Pink! (The other colors on me are from the pre-race festivities.) I was glad to have a water bottle with me because the powder does seem to somehow end up in your mouth.

colormerad4I lost count of how many color stations there were but we never had far to go to get to the next one. Color Me Rad also has liquid color stations, where volunteers spray you with a thin spray of colored water. It creates a different effect than the powder and since it was warm outside we like the change of pace.

Before we knew it we were rounding the bend to the finish line. The finish was a huge cloud of purple powder as the volunteers pelted us with it.

colormerad5

Seriously, the finish line came so fast that I’m not sure if the course was the full 5k distance. I wish I had worn my Garmin. But that’s not what these types of races are about anyhow.

Check out this awesome professional photo they got of me finishing:

colormerad6Awesome right? Also, side note, the cost for the digital copy of this photo was a whopping three dollars. I loved that their professional photos were so cheap!

After the finish line they gave out water bottles, and they had a bunch more color packets. We took some so we could get even more colored and get some neat photos.

colormerad7

I call this my Braveheart look…

colormerad8

We also joined in the crowd for a couple more color throws – it was so neat looking!colormerad9

After having some fun we headed back to the car to towel off and head back to the hotel to shower.

Color Me Rad was a great time! And hello completing 13 of 2013!!

7 Responses to “Color Me Rad 5k (Race Recap)”

  1. The Edmonton Tourist July 2, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    I am participating in my first Color Run on Saturday! It looks like a ton of fun – thanks for the water tip!!

    • Becca July 2, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

      Have a great time!!! It is so much fun!

  2. Kristen July 5, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    Awesome recap, I am running my first 5K in September and it is the Color Me Rad. Thanks for the motivation!

  3. Jacinto Peterson July 7, 2013 at 2:29 am #

    I LOVE The Color Run. SO much fun.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Checking in on my goals | Diary of a slow runner - July 7, 2013

    […] Race. Race. Race.  Specifically, do 13 races. I completed this goal with the Color Me Rad 5k a few weeks ago. But I since I included some virtual races the first time around, I’m […]

  2. 2013 Goals in review | Diary of a slow runner - January 2, 2014

    […] Race. Race. Race.  Specifically, do 13 races. I completed this goal with the Color Me Rad 5k in June (which included virtual races). In the end, I completed a total of 22 races – 5 of […]

  3. Color Runs and Obstacle Races (Tuesdays on the Run) | Diary of a slow runner - September 23, 2014

    […] of fun!  If you want to read about my experience at The Color Run in Philadelphia in 2012 or the Color Me Rad race in Philadelphia in 2013 feel free to click those […]

Leave a Reply

