Sugar Sugar

16 Jul

Thanks for the kind comments on my last post. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who is struggling with weight-loss issues that are more than just calories in minus calories out.

I have been extremely diligent about tracking my food intake since last thursday. I have been under my sugar intake every day but Saturday. Saturday was the bachelorette party so there was lots of alcohol + juice mixtures. But I wasn’t going to not enjoy myself. I just tried to make smart choices (like declining the twizzlers my friend brought along for the bus ride, and taking a smaller piece of cake). If I’m going to eat sugar I want it to be on something that I really LOVE (ie. delicious ice cream or red velvet cake!), so no random pastries at work or random candy from the candy bowl.

For the most part though, the only sugar that I have had has been in the form of fruit. I’m finding watermelon is great for my sweet cravings after dinner, and at about 9g of sugar for a cup it’s much healthier than a cookie or ice cream. πŸ™‚ Anyhow, I’m tracking on MyFitnessPal so if you are interested in becoming on friends on there feel free to add me. My user name is becca474.

Anyhow, other than that things have been rolling along. My runs have been going well (I hit some 11:30s in my intervals yesterday, yay!) and I got back to spinning this morning after missing it last week. It was SO good to be back. The instructor had a good playlist of 80s music this morning and we went up many hills and spent a long time in the out-of-seat positions (I have no idea if that is what they are called, haha). I always feel so strong coming out of Spinning, it is great.

I’m heading out of town again next weekend again so I am (again) working to get in all of my runs and stuff before I go out, including a 7 mile long run. Wish me luck. πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “Sugar Sugar”

  1. Amanda @ There Are 2 Sides July 16, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Just friend requested you! I am back at it as of tomorrow…I have fallen off the wagon HARD. I need to get back to losing weight.

  2. mizunogirl July 16, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    I adore My Fitness Pal. Unfortunatly I’m not sure what my user name is and I admit, I only like tracking food when I have eaten semi appropriately, so currently I’m not doing too well. I was entirely amused at the report on my recent Half Marathon day “If every day was like this, you’d weigh (next to nothing) in 5 weeks.” Ha! My problem is that I don’t eat too well right after a race, so…it looked stellar, but…in reality it would take me a lot more than 5 weeks to lose all this!

    • Becca July 29, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      Yup, quality is really important.

Leave a Reply

