Things I’m loving lately

13 Sep

I’m back! I accidentally fell into a brief hiatus there for a while! I got the urge to blog on Wednesday, but since it was a September 11th I felt weird blogging about things that (by comparison) are so minor. So here I am, today.

I wanted to share a few random things I’ve been enjoying and also update you on what’s been up for the past month!

1. BODYPUMP!

ImageΒ (source)

Remember how I was talking about how I wanted to figure out a way to work weights into my weekly routine? Well, I bit the bullet and joined a local gym that has all the Les Mills classes. The first one I tried out was BodyPump, and I am glad to say that I love, love, love it. I was so scared to go to my first class – barbells and weights are really intimidating to me. But the instructor was so welcoming and I loved the way it worked my muscles. I’ve been going twice a week and am already seeing improvements in the amount of weight I can handle. It is exactly what I needed! I’ve also been going to RPM (a spinning class) and taken a BodyFlow class (which is basically a combination of Tai Chi, Yoga and Pilates). I’m excited to try out other Les Mills classes as they fit in my schedule, but am especially glad to be able to go to BodyPump twice a week!

2. The end of half marathon PR training.

My goal PR race is THIS WEEKEND at Rock n’ Roll Philly. I can’t believe it’s here already. Jen gave me an awesome plan that I really hope will pay off come Saturday! I’ve been hydrating like crazy all week and am ready to hit up the expo tomorrow.

Only downside? I was 1.8 miles short of 100 in August. #runnerproblems haha! I was so mad when I saw the tally on the first day of September, but there’s nothing I can do now!

Image

3. Harrisburg Half Marathon Relay

I’ll have a (short) race report up in a bit but I ran my first relay and it was a BLAST. I ran the second 6.4 miles of the Harrisburg Half Marathon. I didn’t hit the paces I want to the whole time (thanks to cramps and nausea – awesome), but I had so much fun cheering on my friend as she ran in and taking off to try to represent! I’d love to do another relay in the future.Image

4. Oats & Honey with Coconut Kind Healthy Grain Bars

ImageΒ (source)

I’ve been looking for lower-sugar granola bar options and I stumbled across these. They are delicious – a little chewy, a little crunchy, and have the coconut taste that I love. And at 7g a sugar they are a good mid-morning snack at work.

Have a good weekend!

4 Responses to “Things I’m loving lately”

  1. mizunogirl September 13, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    Best Wishes this weekend!!!! I think you will run a super race!!! You have worked HARD and I am sure it will pay off. You look fantastic in your post race photo as well!

  2. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) September 14, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    I was at the Harrisburg half too! We should’ve met up! Good luck at your half this weekend!

    The gym I belong to has body pump but I haven’t tried it yet– I should though!

  3. kerrie September 14, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    Hi, I use a few weight machines in the gym but I’ve never heard of Body Pump (Possibly because I’m from England) Would you say it improves your running? (I’ve just started out and I’m not fantastic at running.)

    Thanks! and Good luck with your training πŸ™‚

  4. Ja @Ja on the RUN September 17, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Love your list!!!
    #1: I love it too!

Leave a Reply

